Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

So Much for Spring

8 Comments

Spring is supposed to bring nice weather, isn’t it? Flowers are supposed to bloom and it’s time to take off the winter layers. All I can think is how much I wished I were in Texas still. It’s cold out there! So much for spring…

We had to go out today, and by “had to” I mean I signed Beekee up for a program, of which he already missed one week. It was the day after the concert and I had nowhere near enough sleep. It was also crazy cold. I couldn’t justify yet another day out of the program. It’s only four weeks long! It’s good for him to get out and social with other kids his age, especially because he doesn’t quite fit in at jujitsu. We had to go out today. It was pretty much required.


So here I am, sitting at the library, guarding the coats while Sander plays on the iPad and Luca plays on the computer. This isn’t much change from the tech time at home. We can’t get any books because I forgot my library card, and neither of them wants to read while we’re here. With a half hour left in Beekee’s program, if they end on time, we’ve got a whole lot of tech time going on. I’m starting to wonder if they’ll ever get off of it.

All of this has me thinking. Do the kids really need all the toys they have? They really only play with the LEGO blocks and sometimes the stuffed animals. They would all rather be playing on tech, and since I don’t limit screen time, I don’t see why they need so much.


Of course, getting my family on board with not getting us more stuff to clutter up my house is hard. I don’t want to be storing things in the basement to cycle through. Sander is proving me wrong by just starting to play with the trains at the library, but he doesn’t often play with toys at home, beyond the LEGO blocks. Still, I have an aunt that likes to buy the kids lots of stuff for birthdays and Christmas. The problem with this is we just don’t have room for it all. The kids aren’t reading the books. They’re not playing with the toys. It’s just taking up a lot of space that our big four bedroom just doesn’t have. And to be fair, it is a big four bedroom. I just don’t want toys up in the bedrooms because the kids play instead of sleep and their rooms are always messy. That means the living room is where it’s at. There’s just not room for a lot.

And even if I did allow the kids to have toys in their rooms, I don’t want their rooms to become a cluttered mess. That would mean only a small number of toys to play with in the rooms anyway.

Now I’m remembering why I wanted to live in a minimalist way. I’m tired of living under all this stuff. The summer I was in limbo was the most freeing thing ever. We lived out of one suitcase per person and still managed to have stuffed animals and some small toys. The kids appreciated what they had so much more and I was so much less burdened. I could breathe without feeling like my house was trying to suffocate me.

I think it’s time for a grand scale purge again. I’ll call it spring cleaning, even though spring hasn’t really found us yet. I can cut back on all the stuff we’re collapsing under and bring it back to the basics. We’ve got bags of toys in the basement that mostly just need to go. Some stuff needs to go back to the kids, but most of it is just stuff that’s been long since forgotten. I think that’s the big thing we need a car for, to get rid of all this extra stuff we no longer use and needs to be removed. It will make quite the Goodwill donation, that’s for sure! And we really need to do it too. I wonder if any of those places do pick ups. They’re good toys in practically unused condition, most of them. They just need to live with someone other than me and the family.

So maybe it isn’t spring outside. Maybe I’m longing for our little trailer again. I’m secretly plotting to go back to the trailer park days. But while all this is going on, some positive has come. We’re thinking ahead to the point at which we cut back the toys in my house to almost nothing again. It doesn’t feel like spring, but spring cleaning is coming.

Go stream of thought writing. I can tell I’m bored while waiting for Beekee’s program to let out. Any time now…any time…

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

8 thoughts on “So Much for Spring

  1. We periodically clean out toys that are broken or not played with anymore. Everything has to fit in a big plastic storage box inside their closet. If it doesn’t fit then they need to decide what is worth keeping. When they were little I had to throw things away without them knowing. Race tracks fit under the bed. It’s still important for the kids to play with their toys because they can use their imagination and create stories. It’s even better when I play with them because the games last longer and they don’t get bored.

    • They like their LEGO blocks, and those are certainly creative. They also get to be creative in Little Big Planet and Minecraft. They do a lot of stuff with stuffed animals and they have tea parties now and again. Most of the stuff they just don’t use. It helps to clear out stuff because the stuff they do want gets played with more that way.

      • Minecraft is huge in our house.

      • We’re a huge Minecraft house, but we play on console, so it’s something they can all play together without the need for multiple computers. It’s all they want to do some days.

      • I play with the kids and we build massive cities and castles. But max I can do about 4 hours befriend I’m just done lol

      • I generally don’t play with them but Oz does. I can’t play nearly as often as they do. I’? Not a fan of creative mode and I’m not good enough at survival yet. Little Big Planet is more my kind of game

      • Creative mode is my fave and I don’t have time to learn survival haha. I guess the more important thing is that our kids are having fun.

      • It’s got to be that inner gamer in me. I want to be challenged. I’m also not that creative, so designing things isn’t my thing.

        But you’re right, so long as the kids are having fun! And all the better that they can do it as a social thing!

Leave a Reply

