Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

Tetris Magnets Are Awesome!

Leave a comment

Yesterday a friend of ours gifted us some magnets for the refrigerator he got in a subscription box.  He’s a member of LootCrate and a couple other of those boxes.  Sometimes he gets some pretty good stuff which he passes on to us.

As I’m sure you’ve guessed from the title, one of those things was a set of Tetris refrigerator magnets.  I didn’t expect these to be anything cool.  The kids have never played Tetris (I know, shocking), so I didn’t expect these to have the nostalgia value that they do for me.  Well, I was wrong…

img_20170303_150212_769

This is one of the many creations the kids have made with the blocks so far.  It’s not their traditional use, by far, but the kids are having a great time with them.  They build something, then wait a while, come back and build again.  It’s been one of the most successful free gifts that we’ve gotten thus far.

I think we’re going to end up getting more of these things.  They’re really cool and the kids play with them like crazy.  The cool shapes mean they really have to think about how things are going to fit together, much like the game.  If I were going to get all analytical, I’d say that this is great for spacial awareness and puzzle solving skills.  I could probably go on a whole thing about that, but I’ll be honest, I’m not that knowledgeable about education and childhood development.

The conclusion?  These things are just really cool!  They’re one of the coolest things we’ve gotten in a good long while!

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

Leave a Reply

