Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

My Weekend in the City

Leave a comment

Though it happens rarely enough, I actually spent the weekend without the kids.  I went to an event in Boston called Nerd Con: Nerdfighteria.  This was an event a friend of mine was going to and really wanted to bring me along to, so I went.

The whole experience was wild.  We stayed in a really swank hotel, REALLY high above the city.  We were on the 32nd floor.  It was terrifying.  What I learned from this?  I can stay in a really high off the ground hotel room, but I would much rather not.

However, even without the kids, I do have something to write about my weekend.  The weekend was a learning experience for me, which really embodies the whole thing about whole life learning.  How can I be an example to my kids if I don’t learn on my own?

Being a con, there were events and there were panels.  On Saturday I pretty much palled around with my friend and went to what she went to.  There really weren’t many things that day that screamed out to me, so I was mostly a shadow.  I saw some really awesome stuff, including the recording of two podcasts.  Still, it was a pretty fun day.  If I listened to podcasts more I might have checked them out.

However, I did get to go to a couple of panels on education on Sunday.  One was about a new science program for middle school students (though they define this as being between 4th and 8th grades) called Through My Window.  I’d just like to point out that the stuff they offer it for free (all except for the book).  While it’s only a single book and two online adventures to start, it’s bound to grow as interest in the program grows.  It might be worth checking into.

The other panel I went to see is bound to end up with things being featured on the blog.  They talked about YouTube channels, particularly those dedicated to science.  I have a whole bunch of new stuff to watch with the kids (and as I watch it with them, I’ll be sharing it with all of you too), so that’s bound to be featured soon enough.

At the end of it all I also got a Team Awesome pin for my bag, something that reminds me of when (way back) the kids called us Team Awesome.  Well, apparently there’s a charity called This Star Won’t Go Out and they’ve got a fitness team for walks and things called Team Awesome.  It’s worth going over to check it out.  They help support families with children suffering life threatening cancer.  They’re also really good people.

All in all, I learned a lot this weekend.  I don’t think I’ve really joined the number of people who consider themselves Nerdfighters, though I’ve been told I’m definitely one because I was that kind of person before Nerdfighters were Nerdfighters.  The general premise is “to decrease world suck.”  In other words, they do what the kids and I always strive to do, make the world a better place.  I can get behind that sentiment.

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

Leave a Reply

