Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

Llama, Llama in Pajama

6 Comments

Sometimes the things I hear really make me scratch my head.  For example, waking up to the Legend of Zelda theme.  In case you don’t know it, here’s an awesome video by Lindsey Sterling with a whole medley of Legend of Zelda songs.  We particularly love her in this house, especially for her nerd video gaming stuff.

Then there was the thing about llamas, hence the name of the post.  Sander was saying, “Llama, llama, pajama!”  I have no idea what brought that on aside from me talking about alpacas.  The kids were asking what the difference was, so I told them the only real difference I knew is that alpacas were smaller and generally thought to be nicer.

This whole thing led to a discussion about llamas and alpacas.  (I think this may warrant more books from the library, but not until we return some of them.)  The kids have decided we need to raise alpacas.  I’m okay with this.  I’m a knitter and hope to some day be a spinner, so having alpaca fleece (which makes my favorite kind of yarn) on hand will not be a problem for me.  I think we may need to consider buying some land so we can have alpacas and rabbits for Corde.

We’ve been doing a lot of reading in the house so far.  I pulled out some of the DK Eyewitness books we got from the library and told the kids to page through them this morning while I write this (and wait for my headache to dissolve) which has kept them occupied quite well.  Beekee has been learning about Mesopotamia.  Right now Sander is looking at a book on ancient China.  Luca pulled out a book on frogs that I’d gotten for Sander (who absolutely loves frogs).  I guess we’re really making good use of those library books.  It’s a good thing I got so many then.

Undoubtedly I’ll be writing about Mesopotamia soon.  It’s currently Beekee’s favorite subject.  (Oh, yeah, in case you didn’t get the memo, A.J. and Beekee are the same person.)  He learned about it with Time 4 Learning and has been interested ever since.  He’s got a section on ancient civilizations, so we’re going to go through all of them one after the other.  It can’t hurt to spend a good long time studying them.  I guess it ties back to our time with classical homeschooling (the exact antithesis of unschooling).  I kind of want to take us through history from beginning to modern.  We’ll see how that goes.  For now, I should let Sander hop on the computer and get some work done.

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

6 thoughts on “Llama, Llama in Pajama

  1. An easy way to go through history from beginning to now is Story of the World. Originally B wanted to study countries but we also read Story of the World once a week. Now we read it every day. We also watch videos that go along with each chapter (we love YouTube). We tried Mystery of History audiobooks but B wasn’t a fan. Might just be that I wasn’t reading. He wouldn’t really say other than “boring”.

    • We were recommended Story of the World when we were in the classical homeschooling co-op. I’ve considered picking it up with all the people I see working with it. We’ll see. Right now we’re just using our library as a huge resource. We have so many books out of the library it’s crazy.

      • What we like about Story of the World is that it’s written as a story and each chapter takes only a few minutes to read. When we want to dig deeper into that topic we go from the book to YouTube and other websites (there’s a cool online video game on pyramids we found). It could work as an invitation to learning more about history.

        We had to stop using the library because we are horrible at returning books. The library fines were killing our homeschool budget. We now have over a hundred ebooks. The majority of them I got for free through Kindle.

      • The library is on our way to jujitsu so we have plenty of opportunity to return things. We’re by there three times a week. I actually have Story of the World Volume 1 on order for us so I can check it out. If the kids like it we may pick it up.

  2. We also love Lindsey Sterling over here. She’s the reason our DD took up violin a couple years ago.

Leave a Reply

