Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

Our Local Library

Leave a comment

I’m sure you’re glad to see me writing about something other than math, writing, computer time, and jujitsu.  You’d think that’s all we ever did, but I swear, it’s not.  There’s plenty of time playing Minecraft, building with LEGO blocks, watching movies, and doing those things that all families do when they have free time.  Still, it’s time I write about something interesting.  It’s time I wrote about our library.

Now, our library isn’t as awesome as the last one we went to in Texas with their crafts and their LEGO days.  We did some pretty awesome things at that library.  Still, it’s got it’s own sense of charm, and I really like the librarian there.  She knows us by now, and even asked where Nika was because I didn’t bring her.  It’s a comfortable little place.

img_20170208_172925_786The kids really love the library too.  Like most children’s libraries it’s got plenty of stuff to play with.  They don’t mind if the kids get a little loud because they’re on their own floor with a separate entrance from the rest of the library.  It’s in the entry way between two sets of sliding doors and downstairs in the basement.  The kids love to play down there, and they play together fairly well too.  It’s a huge distraction from the reason we’re there, to get books out.

img_20170208_173826_237However we did get books, and not a small amount of books either.  This should keep us busy for some time.  I went to get more books on turtles and saw something on hurricanes.  I know A.J. used to be big on natural disasters, so I pulled that out.  Next thing I know we’ve got books on snowflakes, climate change, the food chain of the tundra, and I don’t even know what else.  I picked up one chapter book to read with the kids too, if we find the time.  I know they like having me read to them, and it will give us something to read when The Princess Bride is done.

I know unschoolers have this thing with “strewing” for the kids.  Basically take a bunch of interesting things and leave them lying around for the kids to get interested in.  I can’t help but feel like that’s the public library for us, a whole bunch of strewn topics all over the place.  Walk the stacks and things just jump out at you.  Well, that’s exactly what happened.  I meant to have the kids pick up more books on turtles but we got bogged down with weather related topics, something about the food chain, and a pirate adventure (which I have no idea what that could be about when stacked in with the weather books).

img_20170208_174510_636After all our good book hunting, Luca decided to say hi to their dear friend the turtle, Fred.  Fred is short for Winifred, as we learned from the information sign next to the tank.  She’s about 15 years old and is a form of box turtle, but I forget what kind.  We found books on turtles because there’s the call numbers for the books listed along with her information.  That’s how I found the books on turtles and frogs.  Luca was so excited to see the turtle that we were almost late for jujitsu.  (No, I apparently can’t write anything without writing about jujitsu it seems!)

This is one of my many reasons for homeschooling, and why I took to unschooling in the first place.  The kids can learn so much just by showing up at the library and taking home a bunch of books that seem interesting.  We could pick a different shelf every time and just pull random things that the kids want to read.  We’ve got three weeks to read all of these, but I don’t think it will take us that long.  We generally go through one book a day, so we could totally blow through all of those books in no time.  Of course the Sea Turtle Scientist and Frog Scientist books may go back to the library unfinished.  Those books are long and a little bit to advanced for the kids to really be interested in, but they did learn.  They were each able to tell me facts from what was read to them, so I don’t know.

Maybe we’re taking that bend back to unschooling yet.  We may not live in the trailer park anymore, but we’re still unschoolers at heart.  (And you may still yet find us in an RV park, if all goes my way…)

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

Leave a Reply

