Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

Officially Taking Jujitsu!

Leave a comment

Yes, that’s right, the kids are officially a part of the jujitsu classes.  As of yesterday they were enrolled and everything.  This means they’re going to be committed to going (and I’m going to be committed to taking them).

The early school day got off to a rocking start.  I’d told them they needed to get their work done for the day if they wanted to have time to play Minecraft before jujitsu, and that seemed to get them all motivated to get stuff done.  A.J. and Sander wrote about their islands.  Luca got excited seeing them write and working in workbooks, so Luca grabbed a workbook and insisted in joining in with the fun.  We were able to keep working well past when lunch normally was, so the kids voted on having a late lunch so they could have a late dinner after jujitsu.

img_20170203_184826_893Class went pretty well.  Sander and Luca are in the same class, and being their first day actually being able to do the fighting portion, they were paired up.  The instructor kept smiling at the two of them.  He tried to point things out to Sander, like not turning your back to your opponent, but Sander wouldn’t listen.  Still, Luca managed to get Sander pinned down a couple of times.  For such a little one, Luca did pretty well out there.  It’s funny because Luca is the littlest one in the class.  I have a feeling Luca’s going to be challenged for some time to come.

20170203_192616A.J. was the only one to get his uniform last night.  They didn’t have uniforms in Sander and Luca’s sizes.  They should get them by the end of next week, but A.J. got his.  It’s a little big on him, but that’s good for me.  It means he’s got room to grow and I can wait that much longer before having to buy him a new uniform.  He looks so grown up in his uniform.  He was learning the techniques and rules for the fighting portion of the class from another kid who was really patient with him.  I get the feeling he’ll get the idea pretty quickly and start to run with it.

Now the challenge comes when I have to take the kids to jujitsu by myself.  Oz won’t be home to take them with me on Monday, and he’ll only just be getting back in time to meet me on Wednesday.  I think it’s going to work out pretty well though.  I know I’ll be looking forward to it a lot more when the weather gets warmer.  Warm weather should make those walks pretty nice overall.  We may just keep walking even after we get a car.  Talk about a physical fitness component to homeschooling!

I’m feeling pretty good about what the kids are doing now.  It’s not unschooling as much as I would like, but we’re still pretty relaxed about homeschooling.  The kids each have something to put in their portfolio for writing, so that’s out of the way.  They’re working through their math books pretty quickly and seem to like it.  I have a feeling if we use the test books those will make an excellent addition to their portfolios.  I have no idea what we’re going to put in for social studies or science.  I’m sure I’ll come up with something we can do if I put my mind to it.  I saw someone else say they do one entry per subject per quarter (I wish I could remember what blog it was so I could link it here), and I think that may be a good idea for us too.  We’ll figure it out.

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

Leave a Reply

