Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

Last Day of School

Leave a comment

Well, it’s here, the last day of school for Sander and A.J.  I won’t lie.  I cried over the whole thing.  I was upset that the kids were going to lose their friends, especially Sander, but I’ve done everything I can to try and make contact with their friends’ parents, so there’s nothing more I can do.  I know this is best for my kids, I just feel guilty about the whole friends thing.  Sander only has one friend at school, and if it took him that long to make friends with the other kids, I can’t help but think he’s going to take just as long to make friends outside of school, maybe longer because he won’t see the other kids as long or as often.  It could be hard for him.

That aside, I’m also happy about this.  Once I get past the guilt and the constant nagging feeling that I’m in over my head, I’m happy to think my boys are going to be home with me.  Sure, it’s going to be more complicated to have all three of them at home, doing their work all at the same time, but I think we’ll get through this.  I can do well by my kids, and that’s why I’m doing this.  They’ll get more individual attention and should be able to get more done that much quicker.

Of course, Oz is totally supportive.  He was reminding me that I’ve already got the first project lined up for the kids.  We’re going to be making fantasy maps from a project I saw on Water Street Academy.  Then we’re going to make myths that go with the maps we make, so we’ll be working on writing as well as art and creativity.  We’re going to be stalking other homeschool blogs for ideas of projects we can do with the kids as well.  It’s not going to be bad.  I know I’ve got this.

Now I just need to work on getting Corde home.  I know she’s waiting for the date, but I’m not sure she really wants to just yet.  I want to make sure she’s really in it before I make any kind of final move.  I don’t want her to change her mind two weeks later, if that makes sense.  I’m also going to try and pick up some more curriculum stuff for her.  As much as I want to unschool, I want to get this kicked off in a way that eases my concerns when it comes to state regulations.  I need to trust in my kids but I think that’s a bit of a leap right about now.

So here we are, officially a homeschool family for more than just a preschooler that’s working on kindergarten level stuff.  We’re back on track and where we’re supposed to be again.  I’m not going to say we’re back to unschooling yet, because we aren’t, but as I’ve discussed before, name changes on wordpress aren’t something you can do, so that’s something we’re going to have to stick with, and we hope to get back to someday.

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

Leave a Reply

