Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

Computer Time for All!

Leave a comment

Today, after my bout of homeschool jitters, I decided (since Corde was home from school) that we had to make the most of the day.  She was home because she missed her bus (again) and decided it was better to take the detention than to show up late (and probably still get a detention anyway).  That made it the perfect time to do some homeschooling.

img_20170126_125942_309Corde spent a good bit of time on Time 4 Learning today.  Originally it was just something to do to keep her busy, but she kept at it for a good long while.  It was good to know that the math program covered subjects she hadn’t learned before, and it seemed like the science curriculum was all new to her too.  That was definitely a good thing.  She enjoyed the “Gameroom” time at the end of the lesson too.  She played some classic arcade games and had a pretty good time with it.

img_20170126_171539_168Since Corde was enjoying it so much, I busted out the laptop.  It had to be attached to a cord during use since I didn’t let it charge fully, so I set it up on my bed where it would be comfortable to use.  The plan was to let A.J. sit on my bed and work on the laptop while Corde was on the desktop.  There was a slight problem with this plan.  Some of the lessons required more reading than A.J. was ready for and it was a little complex for him.  I ended up reading the lessons to him instead.  The mouse was a little hard for him to use so we may look into getting a mouse as an extension to help that out.  It means his work is something I’m not necessarily going to be able to leave him to do while I’m doing math with the other kids, but we’ll get his reading there.  It might not be something I can have him do while Sander and Luca are working on math, but we’ll get there.

img_20170126_171626_462Once Corde was done, Sander wanted to jump on too.  Even after a full day of school Sander still managed to squeeze in over a half an hour on the computer.  He’s really become a fan of the school program.  I have a feeling we’re going to get some really good education time out of that program.  Downside to this, you can see how cluttered and messy my desk really is…I am not an organized person at all…

img_20170126_182005_700And, of course, since everyone else was doing it, Luca wanted to play again, sitting on my lap (which made taking this picture a little challenging).  I was excited to see that Luca was all about learning again, even though we’d done school earlier in the day, Luca still wanted to do more.  This program is really working out for us.  I’d say we’re getting our money’s worth.  It’s been a real hit, especially with Luca, who logged nine hours on the program last week.

And the final touch to this day of massive educational victory?  The kids are going to be doing a trial run at the martial arts school next week!  They’ll be going three days next week to try it out and see if they like it.  At the end of the week we talk price, which scares me.  I kind of wish I knew what I was getting myself into financially before we started all of this, but I guess we’ll find out soon enough.  Keep your fingers crossed that this is in our price range to afford.  It would be so good for the kids!

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

Leave a Reply

