Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

Back from the Plague

2 Comments

It’s been far too long since I updated everyone on what’s going on with us.  I got a nasty stomach bug that lingered for days.  Thankfully the kids weren’t hit with it too hard.

So what have we been up to?  Well, aside from the stomach bug thing, we’ve been trying to focus on staying “normal” for this week.  By that I mean keeping in the school schedule and continuing on the way we have been.  I’ve got to admit, I’ve been horrible about that in one way.  I haven’t given the slightest care if Sander finishes his homework.  Friday will be his last day, so he’ll turn it in for what purpose?  It really isn’t worth the fight.

To a certain degree I’ve been letting the kids get on with the deschooling process, even though that can’t properly happen until they’re out of school.  I’ve stopped caring about their mandatory reading every night.  I let them play Minecraft and watch Once Upon A Time.  We’ve been doing pretty much nothing “educational” at home after school.

There’s a reason I use quotes there.  I really do think that these things are educational.  The kids are experimenting a lot when they play Minecraft.  Once Upon A Time gives them an alternate look at fairy tales.  In this case there’s also a good bit of mystery because the kids try to guess which characters belong to which stories before it’s made obvious.  Since we don’t do a lot of Disney or fairy tales, that can sometimes be challenging, especially since the show has a very Disney bend.  Belle is shown in her traditional blue and white dress.  Later Elsa shows up, apparently.  It’s very Disney.

And our math books came yesterday.  I still haven’t dug into them to check it out yet.  I opened the box with the manipulatives, just to take a look, but I didn’t want to get into messing with all the curriculum pieces until I was ready to go through them and give them an actual look through.  Still getting over the plague yesterday meant it didn’t get done.

I’ve got to admit, I’m a bit nervous to have the boys home again.  I’ve been working with Luca quite a bit (though this week has been pretty well a waste thus far).  We haven’t done much, but we work on some writing and on the computer every day.  We’re making progress there.  I’m just not sure how well it’s all going to work out when I have three kids at home instead of just the one.

Originally I’d planned to pace myself.  Start with Luca home, then bring A.J. back from school.  Sander would be next.  Finally Corde would come home at the end of the school year and just not go back after summer was over.  Then I could slowly add my amount of responsibility.  Instead I’m bringing home two at once, and waiting for Corde to stop being wishy-washy on when she wants to be home.  Last week she wanted a few more weeks.  This week she wants it to be on Friday.  She needs to make up her mind!

Anyhow, in anticipation of the kids all coming home I’ve needed to do some serious thinking on how our household is going to need to run. We’re going to need to do breakfast and lunch at home, which means buying more food every week.  I need to figure out a schedule that will work for the whole family.  I don’t know if schedule is the right word, but maybe routine.  We’re going to have to figure some stuff out and that’s intimidating.  Have I said that enough about this change?

At the same time, I’m excited to have them home again.  I anticipate a lot more days of Minecraft, watching movies, and in general relaxing.  I mean, sure, we’re going to get school done, but we’re also going to have more freedom to do other things throughout the day as well.  Homeschooling doesn’t take near as much time as going to school does.

Well, Luca is up from a nap and A.J. is soon to be home, so I guess that means it’s time to hop off this thing and get on with my day!

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

2 thoughts on “Back from the Plague

  1. This is great that your going to have all your kiddos home for school. Breakfast and lunch will be easy. Just have lots of eggs and cereal, lol and lunch is always dinner leftovers or ham and cheese sandwiches or something easy. You got this!!

    • We used to do it all the time. Lunch was usually noodles of some kind or peanut butter sandwiches with some kind of fruit or veggies. It’s just more work making for three than making for one.

Leave a Reply

