Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

It’s Official…and I’m Getting Nervous

Leave a comment

The phone calls were made today.  The boys’ last day of school is January 27th.  The math curriculum has been ordered.  The kids have been set up with Time 4 Learning.  I think I’m gonna be sick…

This whole thing didn’t seem so bad when we were going to be homeschooling “someday.”  I didn’t have to think about it.  It would happen, eventually, and that would be good enough, right?  Way wrong…  To homeschool means actually having the courage to pull the kids out of school, having faith in myself to help them learn, and having faith in their abilities.  *deep breath*  I can do this.  No, really, I can do this.  We’re going to be just fine.  Right?  Right?!?

It’s been quite some time since I’ve had all four of the kids home.  I’ve been eager to do it again as soon as I had the chance.  I couldn’t wait.  While we were waiting for approval I was flying to the mail every day with anticipation.  Would this be the day?  Would we finally be able to pull the kids out of school?

Well, the day came and went.  Instead of pulling the kids out right away, I hesitated.  First it was supposed to be the week after Christmas vacation, that way the boys would have one last chance to see their friends.  Then it was supposed to be the 15th.  Next it was supposed to be today, but I pushed it off again.  Finally we just bit the bullet and did it.  We have a set date for everyone but Corde.  The nerves, they’re killing me right now.

But it’s real.  It’s happening.  I’ve put money into this so there’s no going back.  I have to give it at least until the end of the year.  Once we get through that, I’m sure we’ll be just fine.  All we have to do is get rolling again.  Momentum, let’s build it up.

Today was our big trip to Target.  Here I purchased everything we needed to start homeschooling, at least that which wasn’t on order or being made up as we go along.  That meant portfolios, which I put together when we got home.  Luca already had one (hence the picture is actually in good lighting, and has been seen on here before), but now they all have one, half inch binders, stuffed with plastic sheet protectors for their work.  They each have a picture (obviously) and writing in their favorite colors.

Yeah, this is really happening.  Has it sunk in yet?  Nope, still in denial, I think.

As if this whole thing wasn’t nerve wracking enough, I also had quite the scare in the Target parking lot.  I opened the door while Luca was walking dead into it.  BAM!  Luca’s bleeding, crying, asking me why I would hurt Luca like that (which I really didn’t intend to!  I was just opening the door!)  Blood was running down Luca’s face, threatening to drip off onto the ground.  Back into Target we rushed so I could clean up his face in the bathroom.  There were no paper towels (of course) so I had to use toilet paper.  There was none in the first stall I checked, so I went on to the next, which thankfully had some.  The bleeding stopped pretty quick.  Meanwhile I’m feeling like my heart is about to explode because my kid is bleeding, crying, and freaking out because, “I’m running out of blood, Mama!  I don’t want to die!  I will die if I have no blood!’  Poor Luca…

While we were in Target (because, of course, these things never happen when we’re at home where the medical supplies are), I picked up some Neosporin and Frozen bandaids (Luca’s choice), and went to the self-checkout so the friend of Oz’s that worked there wouldn’t give me hell for what I did to poor Luca, and we went to the car to patch up Luca’s poor little face.

img_20170120_170119_404Frozen bandaids apparently make everything better, because the crying stopped the moment we picked them up, and Luca just pouted until it was time to put the bandaid on.  After the bandaid there was just normal Luca, aside from the face for the picture.  You can’t have a picture of a formerly gushing head wound without a sad face, fake though it may be.  But Luca is proudly wearing Elsa.

Here’s where the bad mom thing kicks in again.  They were latex bandaids.  Luca has a latex sensitivity.  Thankfully it just makes Luca itchy and a little red, things Luca seems to think is tolerable.  Unfortunately, all the fun bandaids for kids are latex.  I chose to make Luca happy rather than face more upset because he couldn’t have Frozen bandaids.  Better to be a bad mom than the horrible mom with the bleeding, screaming kid in Target, right?

So that was our trip to Target…  *deep breath*  We survived.  Luca is happy again.  Luca got a box with a blue top for all Luca’s homeschool workbooks.  Corde also has a blue topped box and Sander and AJ have green.  We’re getting organized.  That was the purpose of the trip to Target.  Injury aside, it was a productive trip.

img_20170120_115143_945And Sander was home from school today, which meant I was able to get him set up on the homeschooling software.  Luca, of course, wanted to see what Sander was doing.  They spent a good bit of time together.  First Luca did school on Sander’s lap.  Then Luca did more school while Sander played on Starfall and Math Ops (a Penguins of Madagascar themed math game).  Then Sander took over playing and Luca watched.  I get the feeling Luca’s going to learn a lot by watching the older kids.

Having seen different parts of Time 4 Learning now, I’m really liking the program.  Sander got to experiment with the different parts of the program.  He did a little from every subject, then got caught up in the Science 4 Us programming that Luca likes so much.  I’m pretty happy with how that worked out.

Injury aside, it was a pretty good day.  I’m feeling pretty good about everything that got done, nerve wracking lack of confidence aside.  I got some major stuff done, so I’m feeling pretty good about that.  I don’t quite feel like we’re ready for this, but it feels like we’re getting there.

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

Leave a Reply

