Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

Gravity Falls

2 Comments

That’s what the kids spent the day watching, Gravity Falls.  They don’t get much chance to binge watch shows like that.  Occasionally Luca will binge on Bubble Guppies or Wallykazam, but generally they don’t watch much television at all.

So why did I let them binge watch?  To be honest, I haven’t been feeling well.  I’ve been wicked tired, possibly a factor of the weather and not sleeping well.  My stomach was just not happy with me today.  I just wasn’t having a good day.  I decided to let them watch their shows while I binge watched Flash on Netflix.  I’ve been doing a fair bit of my own binge watching recently due to not feeling fantastic.

Why Gravity Falls?  It’s one of those shows that doesn’t treat kids as though they’re dumb.  The creators did a behind the scenes kind of thing after the series finale where they talked about what went into the making of the show.  They talked about little “Easter eggs” they put into the show, and how they didn’t expect kids to find them so quickly, but sometimes minutes after the show aired it would be talked about online.  Their view was kids are smart, so they kept packing in more and more secret clues, subtle hints, and other things to give their fans something to think about.  No matter how hard or obscure, it was always figured out.  Like I said, the show actually treats kids like intelligent human beings.

I have a feeling television is going to become a bigger factor in our house.  Once the kids get out of public school they’re going to need a period of “deschooling” anyway.  I figure the television is pretty much always going to be on, between Minecraft and television shows.  When they’re not on it, Oz will be playing video games.  Then in time they’ll lose interest in it, get bored with television, and we’ll be back on track with our usual activities, generally involving LEGO building, doll loving, picture drawing, and other fun stuff.

Thanks to state requirements, I’m not going to drop the ball on that either.  That’s why we’re waiting to pull the kids from school when we do.  We want to make sure we’ve got the resources that they can spend an hour or two each productively engaged in “school” activities.  Then I can say I haven’t dropped the ball on schooling, just that we’re breaking into it slow.  Given pay day is on Friday, that day is creeping up sooner and sooner.

I’ve got to admit, with days like today I’m a little nervous about having all the kids home again.  I feel like I’m going to be feeling blah and the kids won’t be feeling work, so we’ll spend a whole lot of time doing nothing.  Of course, winter was always kind of our down time and we did far more work during the summer, so maybe that will just fall into part of our routine.  We’ve got time to figure it out.

Just one week, it seems like it’s not enough time to be ready to have them home.  It feels so sudden, to be honest.  Yet I’m looking forward to it, even if it does mean a lot of time binge watching shows the kids love and trying to squeeze some schoolwork in the middle somewhere.  I guess you could say I’m totally mixed on this, equal parts nervous and excited for this new adventure.

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

2 thoughts on “Gravity Falls

  1. Good luck and best wishes on your homeschool journey. I think you’re right to give the kids a time to de-school. It’s a good time to build up your relationship with each of them and their relationships with each other before going full throttle. You have lots of family read alouds, board games, nature walks, movie parties, and other togetherness activities in your near future!

    • Oh, I know! I miss the time we spent doing all kinds of crazy things. Even walks to the library were awesome adventures. I miss all of that.

Leave a Reply

