Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

Snow Days

Leave a comment

Today it snowed.  I didn’t think it was supposed to snow until tomorrow, but apparently it came early.  I could be wrong.  I wasn’t exactly tracking the weather.  Still, it ended with a quiet day indoors.

I have to be honest, I feel a little bad about that.  The kids spend so much time indoors.  It would have been nice to get them out in the snow for a while.  Unfortunately, none of them can find what they did with their mittens and hats.  That means cold fingers, something that’s not going to lead for long outdoor play.  I suppose we may go out to play tomorrow.  It’s not exactly supposed to be warmer, but at least the stairs should be cleaned off and safe for them to go out on.

So what have we been doing?  We’ve been watching Outrageous Acts of Science off the DVR.  This is cool because it shows viral videos and then explains scientifically what’s happening, or in some cases, what went horribly wrong.  It’s made it an educational experience.  I love that my kids enjoy stuff that isn’t just junk television.  It’s not like they don’t watch any junk television, but they get a healthy dose of stuff that’s educational too.  I just wish there was more of that kind of stuff out there.  It seems like so much of the educational channels like TLC (The Learning Channel) and Discovery have gone over to reality shows more than educational stuff.  It’s like they forgot their mission.

We’ve had a pretty productive week, at least Luca and me.  We did some work in workbooks, though we didn’t get much computer time in.  I’ve been extra tired the past few weeks so getting much done during the day is a little hopeless, but I’ve tried.  I’m pretty happy that we got some work in the workbooks done.  We’re starting to get into a rhythm, and I think once everyone’s home it’s going to work into a rhythm every single day.  I still want to hold by unschooling as much as possible, but the state has certain requirements that I have to prove I can meet.  I have to be able to prove the kids were performing on grade level, which was something I couldn’t do before when I was unschooling.  I figured reading and writing skills would develop in time as the kids found they needed to learn them.  Now state requirements say that kind of natural progression isn’t acceptable and I have to prove they can make the required markers.  That’s going to mean doing what I’m doing with Luca, finding a fun way to sit down and get some stuff done so they can stay “on track” with the understanding that it’s only because the state requires it.  Hopefully I’ll find ways to make the basic subjects enjoyable enough that they don’t mind it too much.

Watching the plows go by, their bright lights flashing blindingly in my windows, I think how much easier things were when we were the Trailer Park Unschoolers.  I really miss it.  There were no restrictions on what we taught at home so the kids could learn as naturally as they chose to.  There was no snow, pretty much, so we didn’t have to worry about snow keeping us in.  We didn’t have so many restrictions on our homeschooling or our lifestyle.  It was amazing.

So now I guess this blog has a new mission.  Not only will I be writing about how we unschool living while being poor, but I’m also going to talk about how we incorporate unschooling while still living with the state mandated restrictions to our plan.  It should be interesting.

Though, I have to be honest, I hope some day we move out of the “poor” category and land ourselves solidly middle class with a house of our own, or at least a trailer on some land.  I hope that we can elevate ourselves to the level where we can spend a little more money on adventures.  Until then, I guess I’ll keep telling you how it goes from here.

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

Leave a Reply

