Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

Still Not There Yet

2 Comments

Life is taking us on an interesting path. We’re not exactly settled out in our new path, so I’m not changing our name until I know it will apply. It seems like we’re in a state of transition still, neither here nor there. Once we figure out what path our life is taking, we’ll finally put ourselves down with a new name.

So, what are we up to? Well, we’re staying out on a friend’s land. We’re in a camper, upgraded from a tent. It’s incredibly small for us, but it works. It’s taught me that we really can make it work in a tiny home. I think Corde, at least, will want a little more privacy. We definitely would need the space in here to be cleaned out so we can store our own stuff. We might even need a little more space than we have now, just to be certain.  If we got one of the RVs we’ve been stalking online, we’d be okay. We saw a fifth wheel Arctic Fox (how appropriate) in our price range and a couple Class C RVs. They all sleep a minimum of six. They have either a queen or king size bed in the master bedroom type area, which means the little boys and I could all snuggle in the same bed without a problem. I could probably get us all into a queen sized bed with minimum discomfort. The kitchens are all small, but we could shop as frequently as need be. Having to be prepped for travel, we would want plastic dishes (in case anything fell), and each of us would have our own stuff. That would just be it. I’m sure I could find bowls, plates, cups, and possibly even flatware in five colors. Luca would get blue. Sander would get green. Beekee would want orange or purple. It depends on when you ask him. After his dad or school, it will probably be orange. Corde would go with pink or red. I would end up with some random color, purple or yellow or something. We do our tooth brushes that way too. That would save on cabinet space and dishes. It could work.

So, why am I so fixed on this RV? The big thing is we would own it. You can’t be evicted from a place you own, so even if we can’t stay on the land, we can move our home instead of moving. We can travel, if we choose. It opens up possibilities. The down side to a fifth wheel is needing a tow vehicle.  The down side to a class C is the difficulty of also needing a car. Then again, depending on where we land and what I do for work, I could travel by bike, or tow a car.

In the mean time, we’ve been trying to have fun with it. We learned about what snails and pill bugs eat. We studied scorpions. We looked at all kinds of plants. We spent some time looking at historic houses. Today I sang them a bunch of camp songs from when I used to be a scout. It’s been a lot of fun.

This experience has been a tough one for us. Two months in domestic violence shelters ate away at all of us. Thankfully, Sander’s Minket found its way home this week. That instantly put a stop to his nightmares. We’re able to better stretch our legs here, but it’s far more isolated.  Now we’re sitting around watching movies. Well, let me amend that. Corde and I are watching movies while the boys are asleep. It’s depressing. I want to have a life back. The kids want friends.

Thankfully,  things are progressing. My ex husband got the reduction in child support he wanted. However, it wasn’t a huge reduction and he still has his back child support to pay. The next step is likely enforcement,  if I choose to push it that far. The process hasn’t even started with Oz. The state can’t find him to serve him. In the meantime, I’m doing what I can to get my own income. I’m writing for Camp Nanowrimo, in hopes of publishing. I will soon be offering prints for sale on Deviant Art, some of my photography. I’m getting my knitting business started again soon. I’m going to run a funding campaign. Then there’s my page on Go Fund Me to get the RV. We’re making progress! $230 may not be much for an RV, but everyone has to start somewhere.  (The page has been removed because the Go Fund Me is no longer active.)

Now, here’s the point where I get a little shameless. If we can’t get our RV before the weather turns, we may end up back in a shelter. It really depends on if either of the deadbeat exes decide to pay what they owe. We may be able to swing housing if they start paying. We really can’t hack another round at a shelter, and that may not change. Even if we get into housing, the RV fund will remain untouched for the RV. I would rather not be in most low income housing. No contribution is too small. If you’re uncomfortable giving money, we’re also going to have a Scentsy fundraiser done in our name, so that’s another way to help. Anything will help right now.

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

2 thoughts on “Still Not There Yet

  1. Staying in an RV is an awesome way to get closer as a family, we’ve done it a couple of times and have plans to do it again and go on the road. Have fun, stay positive!

    • That’s part of what we’re going for. We’re trying to rebuild the family bond that was so strained with my ex in the house. We learned we were happiest when he wasn’t there. Then the shelter experience just shook us. We need a little bit of security to help us get our sense of happy back. Being on the road also may be an option. We really need some fun to recover from the stressful and negative.

Leave a Reply

