Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

Maybe More Math?

1 Comment

I’ve come to the conclusion that my kids are just no good at math. Beekee gets mixed up with counting past ten, and wants to skip ten entirely and go to eleven. Corde is horrible with her math facts. She has no memory for even addition and subtraction. Sander and Luca will likely suffer the same fate if this trend holds.

It’s really not their fault. Unschooling makes it difficult to be a math whiz. Something about coming upon the drive to learn it yourself just doesn’t lead to practicing something that just may not seem so fun. I haven’t pushed them, or even encouraged them. I just kind of let them figure it out when they discovered it.

Unfortunately, the state is invasive. They expect my kids to hold certain standards. That kind of kicked off my need to get the kids rolling on math. I need to play the model image of a mom so the state will stop harassing me. That means having workbook pages and things to show off when they invade my home for their next violation of my private life.

On the bright side, this emphasis on playing the game has had a benefit. Corde doesn’t like the way other kids talk to her and judge her based on her math skills. She feels like other kids think she’s dumb because she can tell you about biotech, but can’t do basic addition without counting on her fingers. She feels like she’s not on the same playing field. In some ways she’s far more educated and grown up, but in other ways she feels dumb.

Maybe this is a sign. Maybe we need to take math more seriously. We need to start working through more and get the kids on track. It feels so strange to turn my home into a schoolboys every morning, but if it’s what they need, I can work with it.

Sadly, I’m finding I’m a horrible math teacher. I really have no idea how to teach it. This means we may take some of the money co-op would have cost next year and use it in math books!

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

One thought on “Maybe More Math?

  1. We struggled with math too. Our son had an aptitude for it, but hated it and would rush through it making simple mistakes. Our daughter didn’t have his aptitude but she tried harder. She didn’t like it but would do well if we gave her some incentive. Once she wanted a fish and we told her she could have one if she got 90 or above on her math for a couple of weeks. She doubled-checked everything because she wanted that fish and she did great.

    We didn’t unschool in math, but at some point my wife gave up and turned it over to me. I was probably too hardcore and that probably made them like it even less. Eventually my traveling schedule made me have to turn it back over to my wife and she relaxed the rigor a bit. Neither of our kids turned out to be wizs at math, but they both made it through and are now college grads.

    It was hard for us to find ways to teach math skills that were interesting to the kids. It was the hardest part about homeschooling.

    Good look as you work through it!

Leave a Reply

