Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

My Aunty Is My Ho-Ho

Leave a comment

I’ve known for a while that Corde is topple for Santa. Beekee still seems to believe for now. Sander? There seems to be no fooling him! He know who the real Santa is.

This year I mentioned something about my aunt and Christmas shopping. Sander had to announce that his aunt was his Ho-Ho, the way he’s been saying Santa. He even had to get on the phone so he could say hi to Santa. It was adorable.

Years back, before I took this chill stance on stuff like this, I would have gone on the hunt to add the magic back to Christmas, to really work to make the kids believe again. I always thought a kid that doesn’t believe in Santa was missing out. I would jump through hoops to bring that magic back again.

Now I realize it’s all part of the process. It’s all about being honest with my kids. If Sander wants to believe his aunt is Santa, well, with the number of gifts she sends, is she wrong? She always goes out of her way to make sure the kids have a fantastic Christmas, and that’s really what Santa is all about. Why should I try to deceive him because he’s ready for the truth?

The more I think about it, the more it bothers me that parents lie to their kids. For us, Santa has always been about the magic of Christmas, and the myth was more of a way to have fun with the mystery gifts. The story is a fun way to show that the display of love is more important than knowing who the gifted is. It’s all part of the fun.

It got me thinking about those crazy elf on the shelf moms. Not only do I find elf on a shelf creepy and a lot of work, but it seems like deception. It’s like a modern, Christmas-themed boogie man. Be good or the elf on the shelf will mess up your home! It’s always watching! It seems like the whole thing is just a big deception aimed to make kids be good. Aren’t there better, more respectful ways?

Though, I have to admit, this whole elf thing could be a lot of fun when the kids get older and are aware of the whole thing. It could be license to play harmless pranks and have some fun with it. Move the elf while no one sees, play cute, harmless tricks and blame the elf. It could be a fun little holiday game to break the tension. I just think we need Beekee, at least, to be a little older. Otherwise I can see this as being a disaster, very messy, and ending with an elf acting like the hanged man in tarot, dangling from a foot in a tree outside somewhere until he gains a sense of perspective! Until then, I think we need to be elf-free. Maybe that time will come.

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

Leave a Reply

