Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

Too Much Going On

2 Comments

Hey everyone! Sorry I’ve been gone so much recently. Life has been chaotic. Since I last checked in we had another D&D night, Thanksgiving at a new friend’s house, and all kinds of craziness. This week we get to look forward to a surprise party and more gaming. I’m starting to feel like we’re finally finding the people we need in life!

Today I’ll keep it brief. More than anything the kids and I want to remind you to support local and small businesses this holiday season. Don’t forget about craftspeople too! There are plenty of people out there selling fantastic hand made goods. You should definitely keep that in mind!

Which has me asking how you do your holiday shopping! I know there’s this big community that does the want/need/wear/read thing. We don’t, probably because we don’t need to buy anymore books. My aunt has us covered there. Typically the kids get one gift from me, one from Oz, and one from Santa. Sadly, Corde and Beekee don’t typically get presents from their dad. They also get a whole bunch of stuff from family.

And, because I have to add a shameless plug in here, I’m finally getting my business together! I don’t have any product listed yet, but I have some photos up as examples. Now I just need to get my stock together! Check us out at Bear Foot Knits!

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

2 thoughts on “Too Much Going On

  1. To answer your question, I give what I know they will love. Whether they will wear it, read it, need it, whatever. Mind you, I don’t have children so I am basing that off of what I do for family/friends. I am a boring kid gift giver. Always clothes and a book. Always. My parents would always (and still do) get us each a ‘main gift’ which was then supported by smaller things. They do the same thing for birthdays. One thing I always remember about Christmas was any clothes we would receive were always marked “Mrs. Claus”. I love hearing what other people have for traditions!

  2. We’re quite a bit off-center when it comes to Christmas gifts. Years ago we stopped exchanging with each other (and with other adults). When our children were young (like yours) we gave them gifts, but we always tried to keep it simple and modest. But we tried to make the gifts be things that were fun and that they would enjoy. (I can still remember opening a package on Christmas morning and finding it to be full of socks. Bummer.)

    When I was growing up we never got gifts from our parents. They were always from Santa only. My wife got both so we followed her tradition and always gave the kids one gift from us too. When I was a kid Santa didn’t wrap his gifts. In my wife’s family he did, so we followed her tradition. (Hmm… I’m seeing a pattern here.)

    I am the world’s worst shopper ever. I can’t stand it and always hate the thought that I’ll get something the person doesn’t really want. Luckily the little shopping we do can be handled by Cherie. 🙂

    Once our kids were old enough to make their own decisions on buying we only gave them a stocking with candy, some small gifts and cash or gift cards to get exactly what they want. I know that will seem impersonal to some but it suits our practical way of thinking (and guaranteed they’d be happy with what they got and smart with how they spent the money).

    I don’t think there is a right or wrong way to do it. Just do it with joy!

    Sorry to ramble on, but a couple more thoughts…

    Amen on your suggestion that folks buy locally and support crafters and those who make products themselves!! I couldn’t agree more.

    Finally, I’m very happy that you’re connecting with people who share your interests. We’ve been going through that too. We started up a group for people interested in homesteading and simple living that meets at our house once a month and it has been great so far. It is so important, I think, to be able to enjoy the company of like-minded people.

Leave a Reply

