Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

What Does the Fox Say?

2 Comments

Certainly not any of that jumbo from the song… Clearly, today it’s, “Enough of that stupid fox song! You’re driving me insane!”

To which the response is, “If it’s a stupid fox song, then you’re saying foxes are stupid. You’re saying you’re stupid, Mom!”

Gee, thanks Beekee. I had to explain why the song about the fox was stupid, not the fox, but that didn’t go well. This is going to haunt me for a good, long while.

I’m sure you can imagine, being known as Fox comes with it’s challenges. Being a pretty, young woman when the name started really didn’t help. I’d get a lot of things like, “Uh-uh-ah! Uh-uh-ah! Foxy!” I can’t count the times I’ve heard a friend call, “Hey! Foxy lady!” Of course, let’s not forget the introductions. “This is my friend, Fox.” “Why, yes, she is!” Really, people? Can we please be original? Think I haven’t heard that a thousand times? Hate to burst your bubble, but it’s getting old, and it’s not the way to win me over.

When I had kids that dynamic started to change. I got less flirtatious and more curiosity about the name. I attribute that to the change in friends more than anything. It was kind of nice to hear an unfortunate nickname become something a little more cute and quirky. I grew to love my old nickname again.

That’s when everything changed. This new song comes out of nowhere. It’s catchy. It’s annoying. No matter how much I tried to keep it out of my life, the kids somehow managed to latch on to it. Now I hear it a million times a day. The kids call it my song, which makes it even worse. It’s destined to haunt me forever!

I have to admit, it’s fun being the cool mom. It’s fun having the kids see me as unique. I’m happy that my kids enjoy the song because it’s about a fox, and I’m Fox. I just wish they’d chosen a different annoying song, any annoying song but that one! I’d even take the Song that Doesn’t End. Someone, please, if you’re reading this, save me from that stupid song!

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

2 thoughts on “What Does the Fox Say?

  1. Thanks for the smiles as I read this one. 🙂

    I’m so out of touch with pop culture that I’ve never heard the song. In fact, although I’d seen lots of references to “what does the fox say” on facebook, until recently I didn’t even know it was a song.

    Sometimes it pays to be a nerd. 🙂

Leave a Reply

