Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

Setting Goals

2 Comments

Today is the first day of a new month. In the Pagan tradition, it’s a day of meaning. For some the day after Samhain (sow-EEN or sah-WAIN for those not familiar) is the first day of the new year. For others, like myself when I was Pagan, the old year ends on Samhain, but the new year doesn’t start until Yule. I always believed this was the time to do the most serious work, to make the changes needed to start the new year off right.

My goal is to find a job and get my family back to stability. I have a lead on a job that I used to do back in Boston. I’m going to apply on Monday.

Corde and Beekee decided to set their own goals too. Corde is going to read one book a week and to work on her spelling. Beekee wants to learn to read one of Luca’s books. Sure, it will probably be mostly memorization, but you have to start somewhere. He also wants to learn to write his full name, the days of the week, and the months of the year without help. It’s an ambitious goal, but I think he can do it. Sander’s goal this month is to be silly, but he always is, so I know he’s got that one covered!

It’s looking to be a challenging month, but it should be a good one. Things should be looking up by Yule if we can keep this level of intensity up, and the month has just begun!

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

2 thoughts on “Setting Goals

  1. Your post caused me to look up Yule (which I had assumed was just another word for Christmas). Fascinating. Yet another pagan tradition that was absorbed into Christmas it seems.

    Best wishes on achieving all your goals!

    • Thank you! So far we’re making progress.

      Yes, there are a lot of Pagan traditions taken on by Christianity. I really like that, though some Pagans really hate it. Personally I think it brings us all closer together.

Leave a Reply

