Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

Ah, Kids…

2 Comments

It’s co-op day again. As always, I was dead tired. The kids got a decent amount of sleep, so there was that. Of course, we still got out the door late.

Co-op started out pretty well. Corde is much happier in her writing class. Beekee actually did well in his writing class. Luca held up pretty well without me. I was feeling pretty good about the day. It felt like we’re finally getting into the swing of things. It made me realize things are going to be just fine, even though this is a huge change of pace for us.

Then, as always, I realized there is a lot more going on that I need to worry about. Beekee is turning into a challenge. He gets so wild and hyper. It was a problem at home, but it’s getting harder and harder at co-op. He’s just starting to get off the wall. I have no idea what to do with him. There’s got to be something I can do to help him wind down, I just have no idea what. His character trait, for example. He’s been ready for weeks, but he just gets out to recite it and giggles. It’s like he forgot it all, or thinks it’s all too funny. I don’t want to medicate him. There’s no reason to. I just wonder if there’s something in his diet that’s changed him from calm to completely wacky.

Then there’s the big group of girls. It was mostly the girls younger than Corde’s class, but it could easily have been hers. One girl was left out and had hurt feelings. Two years ago that was Corde at co-op. It’s not easy being a kid sometimes.

Hurt feelings caused another rough situation. It doesn’t really involve my kids, so I won’t go into it. It’s just a strong reminder of why it’s so important to help my kids remember to be kind and respect everyone’s feelings when possible.

Kids…you can learn so much from them, especially in their social conflicts. We were all there once.

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

2 thoughts on “Ah, Kids…

  1. ” be kind and respect everyone’s feelings when possible” Is amazing.. Having the courage to be the only one to leave a group and go talk to the outcast is such an admirable quality. I think it takes a lot for kids to sometimes understand that courage or even how being a silent witness to (for example) bullying is just as bad as being a bully… Have you seen the documentary “Bully”. My heart breaks for those outcasted kids.

    • Yes, I have. I watched some of it with Corde too. She’s been victim to that behavior on more than one occasion. Aside from with her brothers, she’s usually the first one to come tell an adult that there’s a problem. Of course, with her brothers, all bets are off…

Leave a Reply

