Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

Taking a Deep Breath

2 Comments

Today we all had a day off. The kids were at a sitter for a while. I had to go do a mandatory evaluation thanks to CPS. It gave us a little time to do our own things.

Today I took a walk on the nature trail. I’ve been with the kids before, but it was so much different without them. Instead of having a herd of mountain goats, I was able to go at my own pace. It was relaxing. I really needed it after that evaluation. I felt like I had someone looking down on me the whole time. It reminded me way too much of school, written tests, filling in dots like a standardized tests, all the reasons I hated school. I was all stressed out, so I really needed that walk. It was refreshing.

When I picked up the kids we went back to our old house so I could pack while waiting for Oz to get out of work. It was cool out with a nice breeze, so the kids played outside. Corde was up in the tree. The boys all played in a patch of dirt. If only you could have seen my dirt children. They were filthy. It was awesome!

Watching the kids play was a huge reminder of why I love homeschooling. The kids are free. They don’t have to sit through standardized tests, filling in pointless dots in an endless stream. They won’t have to have someone commenting that they didn’t work fast enough. They won’t have to pass through the same trials of judgment I did. I want them to be able to have freedom. I want learning to be joy, to be an adventure. Instead of having their heads bent over test papers, worrying they won’t do well or that they won’t pass. Instead they can be lost in imagination, a fairy born from a tree, Peter Pan (who is born from an egg and is immortal, which means zombies can’t bite through his skull to get his brain because immortals are too tough to bite through), a construction worker clearing land for a new railroad, and a little wild creature that roars at everything and fights invisible monsters with sticks. Yes, this is what kids should be doing, using their imagination and being creative. My kids are not just at home, but they’re at home with themselves.

To top it all off, a friend of mine just confessed how much she loves homeschooling. That totally caps off my good day. Sure, it started out rough, but I had a lot of reminders of just why I do what I do. Tomorrow I have co-op to look forward to. I can’t wait. It feels good to know my kids are getting not just a good education, but a diverse, real education. Yes, life is definitely good.

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

2 thoughts on “Taking a Deep Breath

  1. So happy things are starting to look up for you!

Leave a Reply

