Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

New Videos and Plenty of Room to Run

Leave a comment

I never thought I would say this, but I’m kind of glad to be back at Oz’s dad’s house. It wasn’t the happiest place for me the first time. I kind of dreaded going back, yet here we are, stuck at Grumpy’s house again, just over one year later.

Yet there is a good side to all of this. Corde is away from some not so great influences in the neighborhood. It means we’ll have to work harder at time with friends, but that can all be worked out. I was really dreading her being pressured to doll herself up for boys or to start dating before she was ready. Those days are right around the corner, too close for my comfort as is. There’s no need to push it.

Better still, the kids have room to run. Who needs P.E. when the kids can go running massive circles in the yard? They have nature to observe. They tire themselves out and burn off energy. They really needed some time to run free in the country again.

This has me thinking a lot about where I want to end up. I really like being in the country. After the craziness with CPS, I’ll be happy to have some distance between the neighbors and me. I want space to garden, raise chickens, and let Corde have some rabbits. I used to think I wanted to be in the middle of it all, but now I think I like being a little further removed. As much as I expose our lives on this blog, I’m very private when it comes to my neighbors.

I think even the kids are happier out here. There have been fewer bad attitudes and less sulking. They’ve had more fun and have been more focused on learning. I guess there’s a benefit to having cows, horses, and donkeys to stare at out the window. There are less distractions. There are less things to be nosey about. In general they seem happier.

And, if you’re looking for something to do, go on YouTube and look for CountryUnschoolers. We’ve got videos of the kids reciting their poems. With luck we can maintain one upload a week of something interesting the kids are doing, or the poetry they’re working on. We look forward to doing so much more this fall!

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

Leave a Reply

