Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

Opening New Doors

Leave a comment

Today was a busy day. We tried to catch up on all the co-op stuff from last week, and to get all the work from this week done. Two weeks of work just can’t be done in two days, especially with missing two books and the required supplies to do some of it. I feel like we accomplished nothing, yet so much all at once.

This year is going to be hard for Beekee. He’s got to sit down, pay attention, and follow directions. Those are things he isn’t good at. He didn’t pay attention to any of this week’s history lesson. He’s supposed to do a narration tomorrow for his class, but I’m not sure he’ll be able to. That implies he’ll know anything about what we read. He’s not used to this sort of thing.

Corde thought the science was interesting. She couldn’t wait to build her racer. We just ran out of time. There was also a lot of use of a glue gun, and I don’t know where my glue gun is. We’re going to have to play catch-up tomorrow in class. I hope they don’t mind. I would have loved to do it, but we just ran out of time. Getting home on Tuesday night really slowed us down. I only read the first chapter of history yesterday, so I didn’t get much of a start. I had hoped to build the racers today, but there was just so much to do.

History isn’t much fun for Corde right now. She wants to be studying ancient Egypt. The thing about Queen Victoria and the Great Exhibition was interesting, but it didn’t captivate her. The Sepoy revolt was of no interest. The opening of Japan’s borders for trade was just as dull. The Crimean War only held little interest. She was really just having none of it. I hope history picks up for her. I have to admit, The Story of the World series is interesting, but kind of flat. It doesn’t read like a text book, but it isn’t the most engaging. The people and subjects it picks up are pretty great though. I just wish Corde would be a little more open to it. She could find out about some really interesting parts of history she didn’t know about before.

Writing and Latin are my weak spots right now. I don’t have the books, so I can’t catch Corde up. Of course, we just plain didn’t have time. I couldn’t fit all of that in two days. Even if we did have the books, it would be too much for our schedule.

I just feel like maybe I’m breaking too far away from unschooling. At the same time, this is a great way to open new doors for the kids. Beekee will ha’ve so much more ability to explore the world around him if he can read. Corde’s writing skills will improve. They both get the chance to study parts of history I didn’t learn about in school. They get to work on science projects I would never have thought of. Even Sander is being exposed to science, and history too, if I remember right.

This co-op also does us a huge service. My ex was going on and on about the education level of the kids. He complained that Corde couldn’t even read first grade level books. Beekee couldn’t count to twenty. Therefor I must not be educating my kids. Honestly, I know my kids will learn the skills they need in life. I don’t want to force education on them. At the same time I kind of want to prove my ex wrong, especially since he’s the reason I homeschool. He used to think school was horrible and swore his kids would never go. Next thing I know I have Corde telling me he was trying to convince her school was so much better. It would be great to show him just how much more the kids know than his step kids. Of course, he’ll probably credit them with being smarter than his step kids, not with how much they’re exposed to, but it would make me feel good. It would also be nice to have the proof of their education should he decide to bring their education in court. It would just help smooth everything over.

No matter how I look at it, the co-op is going to be so good for the kids. We may go back to schooling next year, or we may continue this format and co-op next year. Either way this will help the kids open their minds a bit wider. That’s all I really need.

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

Leave a Reply

