Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

Home Again

Leave a comment

Wow, that was some weekend. I went to Georgia to pick up the kids. It turned into a three day trip. It wasn’t at all what I wanted to do. It was a long trip. The little guys were along for the ride too. That certainly made it harder. (Check out our pictures on Instagram! Look for sarasynfox)

The reunion with the kids was less than stellar. It was raining. Sander and Luca were pretty sweaty, stinky, and gross from traveling. Corde and Beekee didn’t want to get in the car. I didn’t even get a hug. Their step-mom kept whispering things to them. It was awful. Sadly, a lot of what happened was very telling that something was wrong. I just couldn’t tell what until hours later. Corde eventually spilled and told on her Georgia family. I felt bad for her situation. Her visit didn’t have to go that way. She could have had a great time. Instead she came back with so many bad things to say.

The first ten minutes I was getting the picture Corde would never forgive me.  It turns out she was made to pinky swear she wouldn’t talk to me. Beekee was hyper and refused to listen to me. Things that were sworn to be happening for the good of the children turned out to never have happened at all. Corde is even convinced her step-mom was trying to get them sick. They both came home on antibiotics. Neither are terribly convinced they need them, nor is it convincing that they were ever sick. They don’t act it. It turns out they weren’t even getting their meds right. They were told twice a day bit have been getting it once a day. I can see why she’s concerned. There’s too much that worries me about ever sending them back, including completely ignoring dairy-free with Beekee and our conclusion that he can’t have sports drinks. They told him he had to try the Georgia kind, yet Corde knew that wasn’t true. Neither one causes a deadly problem. Not all allergies have you puking in the ER or getting a shot. I should know. I have enough of them. I’m furious about that because now I need to get him in good habits again and he’s resistant. I understand it’s hard for him. Like me, he craves the things he shouldn’t have. Once he’s had a taste he wants more. Of course, real juice is more expensive than sports drinks. Milk substitutes are far more expensive than milk. I know they were complaining about money a good deal.

However, we did make it home. The kids had a fun time stopping at all the places we saw. They all got excited with each new state. Beekee was only a little sad that we were in Texas instead of taking him back to Georgia. They even got to see a freshly burned out car carrier vehicle and the emergency crews. It was quite the adventure for them.

Unfortunately, we now no longer have the money for the kids’ school books. They are supposed to be back on track this week, but I don’t have the money to spend. If anyone knows where to get inexpensive or free school books, let me know! It’s going to be tight for a while until child support is back and we get refunded for the trip. We’ll get through this. We always do. It’s just yet another challenge.

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

Leave a Reply

