Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

Summer Fun

Leave a comment

I feel a little bad, but we’re having fun without Cords and Beekee. Sander and Luca have been keeping busy. It’s also been a bit crazy.

Sadly, I can’t share any awesome pictures like I had hoped to. There are pictures on Instagram if anyone is interested (look for SarasynFox). The big tragedy there is having my phone stolen in the Taco Bell lobby. I hate to look down on kids, but the only people there were Oz’s co-workers and two kids that had to be about Corde’s age. It’s highly suspected that they took it. The manager knows their mom and could have checked the security video, but did nothing either way. As a result, I have no more unlimited data. I’m now on a real plan with a nicer phone, which feels good. However, my old photos aren’t here to add.

The little two have been having a blast. We went swimming. They spent a lot of time at the park. We saw a praying Mantua that Aunt Misti brought home from work. There was a massive spider with a grasshopper caught up in it’s web. Then Sander got to help release three little bunnies to the wild at Grumpy’s house. One of them tried to run up his shorts. He thought it was funny. We don’t get to talk to the big kids as much as we’d like, but we talk about them a lot. We all can’t wait until they come home.

In the mean time I’ve been getting ready for the co-op. I don’t know what I was thinking! This co-op is intense. We had our first orientation meeting on Friday. I was more than a little overwhelmed. The courses were all described. I got to see my classroom for writing. I’m teaching Beekee’s writing class. There are only three kids. I also get to teach Latin and math, which both scare me. I’m sure it will be fine when I get going. Corde’s in with the fourth graders, so one grade back from where she should be for her age, but she can easily catch up next year. She’s also going to be in class with her friend from church. She’s going to have a blast. The only thing she’ll be sad to miss for her age group is the cooking class. The rest of it should be good. Better still, she won’t have to do the book reports. She may have fun with them, but she doesn’t have the writing skills yet. Everyone but Luca gets to take part in building the science kits. This year they are doing the modern era and physics, so history and science should be fun. They’ve put together a great list of books, including War of the Worlds, Little Women, and Sherlock Holmes. I almost can’t wait!

Friday should be a good day. We get to see the books that go with the science kits. The rest of the info for the co-op will be discussed. I might feel a bit more ready by then. If not, it’s trial by fire next week.

Next week I get to pick up the kids. I’ll have to meet the ex halfway, but I could use a road trip. I’ll have to load up all their stuff too. That means cleaning out the car to make room. Then we have to come home and get a few school supplies. I already have pencils and Beekee’s paper. Most of all I need a couple of books and backpacks for all the kids. I found a couple perfect ones. For Cords there’s an Assassin’s Creed backpack, complete with hood. For Beekee there is a Legend of Zelda bag or one with zombies on it. Somehow I think zombies may be frowned upon in this conservative lot. Now I just need to find one with the pigs from Angry Birds for Sanders. I’m saw some cute backpacks with bears. Then there were a bunch of rock themed ones with guitars, and backpacks with animals. That’s going to be my favorite part of shopping.

The summer is disappearing tpo

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

Leave a Reply

