Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

Judgmental

2 Comments

It’s happening. It was only a matter of time before I started hearing the criticisms of my parenting. It wasn’t going to last forever. It’s been slowly creeping into daily life.

First it came in the form of Corde’s chores. Thankfully he said he knew Oz and I taught her the right way to do it, but he couldn’t believe how ling it took Corde to do the dishes. That kind of steamed me but I let it go. I’d like to see him try to do as many as Corde does as her chore in ten minutes. I need at least fifteen myself. If it takes her twice as long, what’s so bad about that?

Next it was Beekee’s reading skills. He kept telling Beekee to sound things out and insisting Beekee should be able to read. He’s barely six! I know a lot of kindergartens teach reading now, but there are a lot if kids in Texas that don’t go to school until first grade. I’m not worried about him not knowing how to read. He’ll get there eventually.

After that came Corde’s math skills. He had to throw in Corde’s face that he was doing algebra when he was her age. She literally just turned ten! I don’t know too many fourth graders studying algebra. On top of that, if it’s a life skill, she’ll learn it. I’ll be honest, I’ve never used more than basic math.

Then there’s the way he has to correct everything they say, grammar, pronunciation, everything. He feels the need to correct me to. It drives all of us a little nuts. The kids have learned well enough by copying positive example and they don’t much enjoy being told they’re wrong.

All the little things are starting to add up. Sadly, he’s really getting under my skin because he reminds me too much of Corde and Beekee’s dad. He’s always got to be right about everything. Worse still, both are so stuck in the military that they can’t function as civilians.

The slow, subtle criticisms wouldn’t be too bad if he were working, but he just lost his new job. He didn’t even last two weeks. Of course, Oz ended up starting the same day and he’s doing really well. Between two jobs, Oz is never home anymore.

On the good side, we’ll be that much more able to get out of debt that much quicker. On the down side, our guest will be spending a lot of time at home, driving me nuts. At least the school year is over so I won’t have to hear it about my “lessons”. I’m just glad he’ll either be working, or on his own by that point.

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

2 thoughts on “Judgmental

  1. I know how much you like my sage advice–here goes: Silence is golden, but duct tape is silver! Would you like for me to mail you a couple of rolls? Sounds like your friend needs them.

    Don’t worry about Beekee reading. It’s developmental. He’ll read when his mind is ready to read. One day it will click and he’ll be off.

    It’s so difficult on men to be out of work, often it’s a blow to their manhood. They really can’t help it, it’s the way God hardwired them. They are made to work. Since your friend has not job to focus his energy to, your the next best thing. I’d be finding him things to do. Like paint, move furniture, all those things Oz doesn’t have time to do to keep him out of your hair.

    Good luck. 🙂

  2. Sending a lot of patients and calmness your way. People need to keep their opinions out of how people raise their children (obviously unless there is abuse involved – totally not the point but felt I needed to clarify).. If he doesn’t like it, maybe he should have some kids of his own and do what he deems as right.

Leave a Reply

