Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

So Much for Plans…

4 Comments

This week hasn’t gone according to plan at all. I’m not really complaining. We had a lot of fun. Sometimes it seems we always get what we need, even if we didn’t plan on it.

I have to admit, I’m utterly exhausted right now. We’ve had a busy week. First there was recovery from the Austin trip. Then we had Beekee’s doctor’s appointment. We were wicked late for that and missed it. We got our water bill paid. We went to pay our electric bill. At Kroger we ran into a woman who grew up not far from where I did. She’s about the same age as my mom and happened to be in town visiting family. Her daughter homeschools too. She was talking about havibg God in her life making everything work out and what that really meant. She had five kids of her own and it was talking about the kids and homeschooling that got us talking. It was one of those moments when most of everything seemed to click. It was like we were meant to be there. I’m not even sure what had me thinking she might know where we would go to pay our electric, and I normally don’t have the guts to stop someone to ask. I’m too shy. Maybe something in me just knew I needed to talk to her. It’s funny, but it was like she somehow knew the words to help me realize everything’s going to be just fine. I didn’t even know I needed to hear it. I thought I knew everything would be okay, but somehow I was more confident after that.

Our next stop was the park. Since we ended up rescheduling Beekee’s appointment I wanted to make sure we had some reason to go into town. We decided paying the bill and going to the park would be it. Corde wanted to go to the park the Monday play date is at, but I decided to go to the one with the castle instead. I like that park better. The boys have more fun there and I can just let the kids dissappear because I can park myself at the only way in or out. Our only problem is Luca’s love of eating acorns. I think he might have been a squirrel in a previous life. I have to watch him like a hawk to make sure he’s not going to put any in his mouth!

We got there and took a little hike on the nature trail. Sander had an accident, so we didn’t make the full loop this time, but we’ll definitely try again. The kids thought it sounded boring while walking past that fun playground, but they quickly realized there were so many interesting things to see. They can’t wait to go back. Well, Sander can, but he has a hard time getting past the playground. I can’t blame him! It’s a fun little place!

image

After that we went to the playground. It was surprisingly packed! We just happened to go on a day the homeschoolers were out. Not only was it a group of homeschoolers, but it was members from the secular homeschool yahoo group that hosts the Monday play date. We had no idea they did anything on Thursdays. Corde and Beekee bith made new friends and Sander found three new kids just about his age to run around with. It turned out to be a pretty good day. We met Oz at the library and hung out for a good while after that.

Yesterday we were supposed to have another play date at the castle park, but Corde’s friend ended up going on a road trip with his dad and had to reschedule. Thankfully, Corde wasn’t disappointed. She thought it was great that he got to go on a work trip with his dad, so we went back to the library. Corde picked up a new manga that she can’t put down. She loves manga. Nor only is it a grapgic novel format, but she gets to read it back to front by American standards. I can’t complain too much. At least she’s reading, even if it is Naruto. I forgot how much I missed Library trips. Beekee got some books on Daniel Boon, Davy Crocket, and Sam Houston. He now wants to go visit the historic site for the Alamo in San Antonio. We might just schedule that trip for the fall when Oz has saved up some paid time off and the weather’s still nice enough to camp. I have to admit, I’ve literally walked right into the side of the Alamo once, but I didn’t get to go in. I swore I’d go, but I haven’t gone yet. We might as well go while the kids have interest.

After that Corde and Beekee went over to a neighbor’s house to play. Poor Sander was so upset to be left out that Oz and I packed Luca up and the whole family went over to hang out. Corde and Beekee even ended up staying the night. It was great to get out and see people. I love my readers here, and some if you I would love to meet in person and have a nice, long talk (because you’re truly awesome people and it would be great to have you in my community!) but it’s really great to sit and talk with people face to face. It seems like we’re meeting so many people I don’t know what to do!

Today we saw that same family again. We missed the Arts and Jazz festival, but we did get to go to their youngest’s birthday party. The kids had a blast. Oz had a great time too. I even broke out of my shell enough to have a decent time. It really was worth the trip, even though Oz said he was too tired to go.

I can’t blame him for being tired either. We had a long day! I’ve been reading books on cleaning and decluttering, just for fun, really. I knew what I needed to do and we’ve been working through it slowly. However this boik hit me right where I needed it and the one I just started is kund of finishing the job of getting me off my tail to do it. I really have been going about it all wrong. I can’t think in terms of what we don’t need and use, though that does work. I need to be thinking in terms if the purposes for our space. That being said, I decided to take on the massive unfertaking of renoving everything from our room that doesn’t belong there, or at least stowing it in a way that makes more sense. In the process we’ve finally managed to get Sander out of our bed. With four people in our bed our queen-sized just isn’t big enough. We solved this by moving Sander’s bed into our room. Sander is happy to be in our room. We’ll be able to start getting Luxa used to not sleeping in our bed because Sander and Luca like to sleep all cuddled up together. Sander wants Luca to sleep in his bed two or three nights a week, or at least for naps. They both nap better together, so we’ll try it. Strangely, moving Sander’s bed into our room seemed to create more space and we haven’t even moved Luca’s dresser out yet. We’re using our room as a trial run, then we’re going to do the same in the kids’ rooms. Most of all, Beekee is happy because he has room for toys in his room again.

Unfortunately, this seems to have angered the bugs. They’ve started to be more annoying than usual. Thankfully, we know all the places to target now that they’ve been running from the areas we have been spraying. This bug problem is a nightmare, but we’re making progress. We may actually beat it yet! That’s really saying something with the state of this place. We were starting to think moving was our only option. I can also be thankful for the bugs for another reason. We’ve been hearing all kinds of noise in the walls and Sabrina’s been going out of her kitty mind. I was starting to think the problem was mice, which could have been fine. Mice don’t last long with cats around and they would make for a great lesson. Then Oz opens the pannel the breaker box door is behind and has something jump out at him. It took him a minute to find where it went, but he quickly realized it was a gecko! I saw two more just tonight. They’re not babies either. These are some big old geckos! And what do I have to say about that? Best “infestation” ever! The kids always love seeing the geckos and they make for great lessons. Their hibernation season is ending and it’s becoming clear we have a gecko problem. Well, I wouldn’t really call it a problem. I’ve seen them chow down on roaches. It’s like a delicacy to them. I’ve seen them go for roaches over other, tastier looking bugs. Geckos mean the friendly jumping spiders the kids love so much will be back on our porch again soon too. It also marks the beginning of fly season, so this might be a goid time to get some carniverous plants to study. I’ve always wanted a venus fly trap. Now I have an excuse, homeschooling and Texas flies. We live right by two stables, a cattle ranch, a family that raises sheep, and a chicken farm that also has a couple cows and a small herd of sheep, plenty to attract flies.

The kids are enjoying the return of the wildlife season. Last night the kids saw a baby opposum. The neighbor picked it up by the tail and all the kids got to pet it. It was pretty chill for being swarmed by four adults and six kids. Sander was afraid of it, so he wouldn’t go near it. He mad Oz carry him home because he was afraid the “good guy paws some” wouldn’t bite his toes. They also saw some pretty blue-green beetles that were pretty massive. I’ll have to look that one up. There was a brown bug that looked like a dead leaf. The saw the deadly “wasper” that tried to crawl up Oz’s pant leg. The world is really coming alive around us.

Anyhow, we have a long day ahead of us tomorrow. We have church in the afternoon and want to make it to the Art and Jazz Festival. We also need to get Luca’s dresser to it’s new home and finish up our room. Beekee’s room is next so we can fit his toys back in there. We’ve got a lot of work ahead of us to get this place where we want it to be, but we’re making progress. We’re even finally not just getting on top of our bills, but getting our lives back on track. We’re finally almost up to date on everything. Now I just need to find the money for the co-op before that fills up, or hope the other local co-op has openings. Keep your fingers crossed on that!

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

4 thoughts on “So Much for Plans…

  1. I love hitting the park and exploring. My kids always get upset when I don’t let them ride bikes but they always end up exploring and finding interesting things along the way. Sounds like you had a good week!

  2. It’s so great to see that we’re not the only unschoolers in the trailer park! You’ve made my day!

Leave a Reply

