Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

Our 100th Post!

6 Comments

Yup, this is it!  Post number 100!  I know that may not seem like a lot to some of you bloggers that have been posting long past 100 posts, but to me it’s a lot.  It’s going to be right up there with our one year anniversary.  It’s one of those landmark moments in blogging.

I’ve got to admit, I’ve known a lot of blogs that don’t make it to one post.  They don’t make it to one year.  Their blogger either loses interest or just loses topics to write about.  I don’t think I’ll ever run out of steam.  Run out of time, maybe, but never out of steam!  My kids are constantly giving me plenty to write about.

For our 100th post I feel like I should be writing something monumental, like a recap of everything we’ve been through so far.  I feel like it’s really 80’s montage time, but I really don’t feel like doing that.  Instead I’ve updated all of our bios on the about page and I’ve put some new pictures up.  If you’ve got Instagram and want to follow us, you can find us here.  Please, please, please follow us if you’re interested in our photos.  It’s much easier for me to just include our cool photos there than it is for me to post all the cool photos of things we do here.  I know blogs with photos tend to get a lot more attention, but it’s so much work to constantly keep up with photos!  As you can see, I’ve also updated the header photo.  It’s definitely not winter anymore.  I love our beautiful snow picture, but it’s not likely to snow in Texas anymore this year.

Spring really has set in here.  This has meant some wonderful moments.  We’ve really had a chance to get out and enjoy the warm weather.  It’s still a little odd to think that back home I’d still be considering this sweater weather at the very least, not walking around outside in shorts and short sleeves on a nice day.  Even on the colder days long sleeves and a hoodie are more than sufficient.  It gets decently cold at night, but we’re not out at night much.  It’s not going to be long before the sun is carrying on long into the afternoon and the kids won’t want to go to bed at night because the sun is still shining down on us.

Luca has taken quite a liking to walking around outside in the grass.  Pulling up tufts of grass and tossing them everywhere is a new pastime.  Walking around to chase after his brothers and sister is fun too.  He loves the fresh air and tries to sneak out the door any chance he can get.  It’s just too bad we don’t have a privacy fence around our yard.  I’d let him run around outside without a diaper, but around here I think people would start to talk, and that’s the last thing we need.  He loves riding around on our walks and enjoying the sunshine and fresh air.  I’m just wishing we had a woven wrap carrier because it would make it easier to bundle him in when he falls asleep so he looks less like he’s going to hurt his neck!  (By the way, my birthday’s next week…so if anyone should feel inclined to send gifts…no, seriously!  Alright, maybe not…)

Sander has found a new love in blowing dandelion seeds.  I remember how much I loved doing that when I was little.  I would make a wish every time.  He doesn’t really get the “make a wish” part of it, but he does love to blow off all the seeds.  He has so much fun with them.  It’s inspiring to see his joy at such a simple thing.  Other joys include rolling a bike wheel that’s currently not on a bike and throwing balls around.  Let’s not forget playing in the dirt!  He likes our walks too, but he’s always disappointed when he can’t pick the way we go.  If only we could just wander around aimlessly in whatever direction he pleased!  That would be fantastic!

Of course, I’m probably going to have to make a cooler magician’s cape for Beekee soon, but for now the weather is perfect for his.  It’s not quite to the point of being too cold.  Warm weather also means park days!  Better still, I’m planning some trips through the area we used to live in as soon as we get a car.  That means we may be able to visit with his old friends.  I know he’ll be so excited about that.  His best friend from our old co-op is also into magic right now.  They should have a lot of fun sharing their love of magic.

This is also a great season for barefooting!  For those of you who don’t know, I enjoy doing a great number of things barefoot.  I’ve done everything from grocery shopping to eating out to driving.  Believe it or not, it’s NOT illegal, though many people don’t realize that.  Unless a place has a sign specifically stating otherwise, you can actually argue your way into barefooting most places without getting kicked out.  That being said, I never had the need to argue with anyone and I’ve only ever been asked to wear shoes at the library, and I can respect that.  This has led Corde and I to walk all the way to the store barefoot to pick up some groceries.  It was a wonderful day for it.  We’re going to be doing a lot more of that as the weather gets nicer.

As far as that goes, barefoot living is great!  It’s so healthy for your feet.  A lot of doctors recommend being barefoot or wearing minimalist shoes to help children’s feet develop properly.  I’ve had great results when it comes to knee and back pain.  I’m much healthier overall when I’m living barefoot, though I’m sure it doesn’t seem that way to some.  I know people think I’m off my rocker for going around barefoot, and probably even more so for letting my kids do it, but we’re healthy and happy, so shouldn’t that be what really matters?

Beyond barefooting and enjoying the outside, our days are kind of dull.  Corde works on her workbooks and hangs out with her brothers.  The older boys play and try not to fight too much.  Luca wanders around pretty much following the other kids.  Sometimes he likes to carry a purse around or play with a toy broom.  He likes to play with the older kids.  It’s pretty chill, but to look in on any given day it doesn’t look like much learning is going on.  Actually, most people would assume that I’ve got my hands full and Corde’s always responsible for the baby.  I can see where they’d get that idea.  Luca will barely have finished nursing when Corde’s stealing him away from me to go play.  Then Beekee spends most of his time sitting by himself to calm down or to have a discussion about his attitude, his screeching, his refusal to accept other people’s boundaries, and in general getting under everyone’s skin, like singing or humming the same tune for six hours at a time, even after being asked several times by everyone around him to stop.

I try really hard to give a positive image of what it’s like to have a larger family.  Most people think I’m insane for having so many.  I constantly hear how I must have my hands full.  I’ve always been told by other people that moms of large families really need to work hard to give other people a positive image of large families, but it’s hard.  It wasn’t so bad six months ago, but with each passing day Beekee becomes harder and harder to live with peacefully.  The tantrums are more plentiful.  The challenges are more frequent.  His ability to listen and follow directions seems to be slowly eroding away to nothing.  With each passing day it becomes harder.  I hate to say it, but it’s easier to go out with three of the four of them and leave Beekee at home than it is to go out with all three of them.  Beekee can easily wear me out and make me feel exasperated.  Of course, then there’s other rare days when you’d never know he was the one that gave me challenges.  He listens, follows directions, and somehow doesn’t have meldowns.  I love those days.  I just hate feeling like I’m giving everyone a bad impression of what being a mother of four is like because I get so frustrated and worn down by him.

And the strange thing about it?  I really hope I can have one more before we’re truly done.  I’d like to have a little girl, but I’m not going to be disappointed by whatever we have.  I just know that it’s not going to be for a while yet.  We need to pace ourselves.  As much as my little bear is growing up all too fast, I’m not ready to be racing into all of this with a new baby just yet.  Let me enjoy my little teddy bear a little longer before I give him competition!

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

6 thoughts on “Our 100th Post!

  1. Congratulations on getting to 100, Fox! And happy barefoot trails. xoxo Jane

  2. Congrats on the 100th Post!!!!! I have made a goal that I was going to (hopefully) blog over 200 times in 2013, definitely more of a challenge than I thought!!… Barefooting seems like a natural way to exfoliate, much like at the beach, but everywhere. This may sound like a naive question, but aren’t you afraid of stepping on something gross/wet/sharp? I guess you would just have to watch where you are going a little bit more closely… I am officially following you on instagram! Your hair is definitely much shorter that I envisioned. Then again, I am going by your gravatar. 🙂 Congrats again!

    • My hair is much shorter than it was when I started this blog. I had it hacked off a little before Valentine’s Day. I wanted to get all the blonde out and leave only the healthy, unbleached hair. I was getting sick of the two-toned look, and Luca was very determined to yank my hair at every possible moment. It’s also going to be nicer come summer when it’s hot. My goal is to grow out my hair for dreads again, but this time have them one solid color.

      As for barefooting, it’s definitely a common question. I don’t worry too much about stepping on wet stuff unless it’s cold. There’s something really nice about damp, dewy grass. The gross stuff I mostly avoid. It’s pretty easy to avoid nasty stuff like spit or dog droppings, but I’ve heard not everyone cares. Personally, I just avoid it when I can. Then again, I hate stepping on gross stuff in shoes even more because the shoes will track it everywhere in the treads. My feet don’t have treads! As for sharp things, I’m generally decently careful. I’ve learned a great way to handle burs at the suggestion of another barefooter. I’ve learned to tolerate gravel pretty well. I’m careful around glass, but not all barefooters are. You’d be surprised how tolerant your feet become when you get them used to walking barefoot. It’s sort of like tradespeople often end up with tough calloused hands, same goes for the feet, you end up with tough feet. I even know some people who can hack it in the snow! I can’t, but some can.

      Thanks for following us on Instagram!

      • How long are you hoping to get your hair for dreads? I know what its like waiting to grow! I mean, I’ve always had long hair, but a few years ago I went and asked for a “TRIM” and they took off 4.5 inches… My hair is curly too (which i always straighten) so it was a lot more hair than I could fathom. It FINALLY grew out though..

        I feel like the barefooting needs to only be done by people who are seriously dedicated. Like you said, you build a callous and tolerance and due to that you will be able to appreciate and enjoy it. I feel like if the “occasional” barefooting would not necessarily be the best feeling as your tolerance is not built.

      • I need a steady 6″ in order to get natural dreads put in. I’m seriously considering starting them off with synthetics because I can do that when my shortest hair hits 1-1 1/2″ instead. I wouldn’t have to wait quite so long. I’m still torn.

        As for being barefoot, I used to do it occasionally for years without a problem. It didn’t become an all the time kind of thing until last summer. You just have to be a little more careful of what you walk on. I’d stick to pavement, soft grass, squishy mud, and dirt. I’d avoid gravel and anything rough. As for health, any amount of barefooting can give you some of the health benefits from being barefoot, even if you just do it at home. The more you do it, the greater the benefits!

Leave a Reply

