Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

And They’re Out…

5 Comments

All four kids hit the hay earlier than they usually do tonight.  I’m not surprised.  We had a decent, though very long day.  I’m really glad it all happened the way it did.  We really needed a day like this.

It all started with me being super cranky.  I was in a foul mood.  I don’t just mean I was a bit unpleasant to be around.  This is “warn the kids and watch them scatter” levels of cranky here.  I’ve been eating like crazy lately.  No matter what I do I can never seem to eat enough.  This morning there wasn’t much that I could tolerate the thought of eating, or wouldn’t make me sick (Oz said he’d gladly make me eggs for breakfast, but I can’t eat them!  I love his eggs, but I didn’t want to handle the very upset tummy and nasty feelings that would result).  I was determined to go to the store, but then I realized everything hurt and it was raining.  This, of course, made my mood that much more miserable.  It was shaping up to be a very bad day.

Then Oz got a call from his work.  One of his co-workers had a family emergency so she wanted to know if he could come in and work an hour or two so they could go deal with the situation.  I got even more cranky because I was thinking about just walking down to the gas station to get something quick.  Then Oz had the brilliant idea of packing up everyone and bringing them with.  I thought he was insane, but I was too hungry, cranky, and sore to argue.  I figured if the kids got crabby, he’d have to be the one to handle it, and that was fair to me at the time.

Thanks to the former neighbors taking back their stroller when they came to collect the rest of their stuff, we realized we were going to be stuck with Sander walking.  This simply wouldn’t do.  He was too slow and kept asking to be picked up on long walks.  Oz was going to see about borrowing a stroller from his aunt when I came up with a solution.  We had a ton of carriers.  Oz wore Luca in a frame pack carrier we were given (and have since decided is not for us, but it did the job today).  I wore Sander in the BabyHawk, which was actually much more comfortable than wearing Luca had ever been, if you can look past the non-padded waist strap digging in to my hips like it always seems to unless I wear it well above my waist.  With that we were on our way.

The walk there was mostly pleasant.  The weather was nice, but my hips were screaming at me and my back ached still.  However, the fresh air did wonders for my mood and Corde and Beekee ran ahead while Oz and I were behind with the littler ones.  It worked out almost perfectly.  I just wish the day hadn’t been so hot because I was roasting the whole way!

When we got to Subway the kids were each given a card for a free 6″ sub, which was awesome.  I guess it was their way of thanking Oz for coming in for such a short and seemingly pointless shift, knowing he always walks.  The boys went first  I helped Sander, but Beekee ordered on his own just like an adult would.  We decided it was his practice run for some day being able to go to a restaurant and order his own meal.  Ticket in hand he did everything, even “pay” for his meal.  He thought this was great fun.  Corde felt all grown up because she ordered on her own while I sat down with the boys.  Oz thought it was pretty cute too.  Before long they won’t need us anymore!  Okay, that might not be true, but they’re growing up so fast!

After Oz got off of work we decided to head out to the library.  Corde was all excited about getting a library card.  It had been a long time since she’d been able to get out library books.  She picked out two books that she hopes to read on her own.  Meanwhile the boys were playing in the Children’s section while Oz was chilling with Luca, who was sound asleep.

Just after Corde had picked her second book Oz came up and informed me that I had to come right away, there was someone I just HAD to meet.  I gave him a questioning look, but he explained that she was a homeschooling mom and she lived in our trailer park!  What could be better than that?  We ended up sitting down to talk for quite a while.  I almost forgot I wanted to pick out some books of my own while we were there!  She has four kids of her own.  The oldest is about Corde’s age.  The youngest is two months younger than Beekee.  Sure, Luca and Sander are left out from having kids in their age group, but there will be plenty of other kids.  I’m just so happy that we’re starting to meet people and didn’t have to go that far.  The kids have a play-date scheduled for tomorrow, which is fantastic.

After I picked out my books (and two books on Picasso for Corde), we checked out and were on our way.  Just as we got most of the way home we realized it was Wednesday, just about time for everyone to be showing up for church dinner.  We decided it had been a while, so we stopped in to grab a good meal and reconnect with everyone.  Unfortunately, Sander (on his first big outing without his bubble butt) had an accident, Luca was tired and cranky, and I was achy and exhausted.  While the kids wanted to stay, we decided we had to go.  If I didn’t head home when I did, I probably wouldn’t have made it in the door.  The kids were exhausted and it was starting to get cold.  Sander said he wanted to walk, so I gave Corde the BabyHawk and wrapped it like a shawl (okay, so it was creatively), so I had to suffer with carrying him the whole way.  Then when they all got in they were all so cranky and miserable that I sent them all to bed.  I honestly think if we’d stayed any later then leaving church may have ended in a meltdown of one or more kids.

Interestingly enough, Corde loves it at church.  None of the boys really care for church.  Oz really enjoys going, but I’m finding I really don’t.  Just today alone I got too many odd looks.  I felt too awkward and uncomfortable.  I’m sure part of it was being tired and the cranky mood from this morning not entirely disappearing, but it’s also not so much my thing.  I was Christian once and I struggled with it a good deal, and now I’m starting to think I’m struggling to make church something I should enjoy, but the reality is I’m much more intensely spiritual than “religious” in any way.  I’m finding I have a hard time connecting.  I’m seriously considering just sending Corde and Oz in the future because it’s doing both of them worlds of good, but I’m not really feeling at home there.  Much of my life waxes and wanes and I think the thing with church was great while it lasted, but I need to start being more honest about who I am.  I don’t want the children to feel pressured into Christianity because they think I’m all for the religion when I’m really not as Christian as they may see me to be.

In the end I’m just completely wiped out.  I think it’s time to take my book and go to bed.  I wouldn’t exactly call a biography of Ben Franklin “a little light bedtime reading”, but since he’s such an important historic figure to Corde, I guess I should at least learn a bit more about the man than what I know.  Besides, his life was fascinating.  Once I’m done there I’ve got one on John Adams, Daniel Boon, and Anastasia Romanov.  It’s so much easier to encourage the kids to have a love of history beyond the American Revolution when I’m actively learning about history beyond the revolution myself…okay, so Franklin and Adams are related, but it’s not like the only influences they had in history were during the American Revolution!   I call that justified.

Now, off to bed because I’ve got to be alive for the play-date tomorrow.  She’s a cool mama and it would be nice for me to hang out too. It would also be really nice if she saw me in normal clothes, not the Gothic looking stuff I was wearing simply because it’s also conveniently laundry day!

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

5 thoughts on “And They’re Out…

  1. A nice way to turn a “blah” day into a pretty good one! When I was maybe 10 I read a child’s book on Anastasia Romanov, I absolutely fell in love with that name. It is actually still on my list of “top names”. It made me think of that.
    Enjoy your play date today!

    • Thanks so much!

      I love the name too. I hadn’t so much thought about using the name Anastasia, but I have considered Nastya (her family nickname) or just using the Romanov name as a middle name. Of course, the more I read about her the more I think it’s just the story that makes her stand out so much. All-in-all, before the whole family was murdered she didn’t seem terribly special. At the same time I’m fascinated by the whole thing. I just wish I’d learned about it sooner than high school!

      • I am in love with the whole ancient royal stories – although I know she was more “modern” (opposed to king henry era). Have you looked into the author Phillipa Gregory? I really enjoy her. Her novels are historical fiction, so the events are factual but the story may be exaggerated. She actually wrote “The other boleyn girl”. I would recommend “the white queen” or “the red queen” … Just another suggestion if you were into that whole era!

  2. “the royal diaries” it is by Kathryn Lasky – that is the series I used to read. It was historical people “telling” their story through diary entires. Such as Elizabeth 1 – King henry’s daughter, Anastasia Romanov, etc. It was interesting and historical, maybe something Corde will be interested in?

Leave a Reply

