Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

Mr. All Grown Up

Leave a comment

After everything yesterday, we’ve decided to go hardcore on getting rid of stuff.  We’re going to have this house as good as possible.  While going through it all, I pointed out that Corde hadn’t brushed her hair this morning, which isn’t usually a problem.  I get on her about ten times about doing it a day and after that she finally gets it done.  I finally told her that, since CPS is involved, she really needs to make sure it gets done without problems, or I’m taking her to get her hair hacked short, short enough that she’ll be able to get away without brushing it.  Sadly, Corde is cursed with the hair I had growing up.  Sure, now I can get out of bed without brushing it and it’s okay, but I never could get away with that as a kid.  I just don’t want to have to worry about getting on her ten times before she’ll finally do it.  I’m just done with fighting with her over it.  She had ten minutes to find her brush and get it done or I was taking her to get her hair hacked off.  Amazingly, she found where she had obviously hid her brush and got it done.  I hate that I had to bust it down to a choice like that, but something had to be done.  Her hair was a horrible mess when the caseworker showed up.  I can’t have that happen again.  Unfortunately, CPS means your image is under extreme scrutiny.  That means I can’t negotiate on baths, hair brushing, clean clothes, any of that anymore.  We’ve got to stop letting the kids get away with making their own decisions quite as much.  I mean, generally the kids aren’t dirty.  They usually don’t have messy hair, well, aside from the fact that Corde and Sander’s hair both gets so easily messy though the day. That means I’m going to have to be really careful about staying on top of it.

Then something shocking happened.  “Mom!” squeaked a little voice, “I want a hair cut!”  I eyed Sander suspiciously and asked him if he was sure, did he know what that meant.  He had to prove he knew exactly what that meant.  He grabbed my scissors and repeated, “Hair cut!”  He held out his hair so I could cut it.  I told him once the hair comes off, we can’t put it back on.  He’ll just have to wait for it to grow.  Then we did a test run.  I snipped a little bit of his hair so he’d know it wouldn’t hurt at all.  I know getting your hair cut can sometimes be a little scary for kids.  He was very excited and wanted me to cut it all.  Unfortunately for him, I don’t do haircuts.  I’m not even going to talk about my last very necessary attempts with Corde’s hair.  It was time to go get some help.

Oz called down to the hair salon to get a price and find out how long they would be open.  We had a half an hour to get down there, so we were soon on our way.  We got shoes and coats on, grabbed the diaper bag with my wallet, and were on our way.  Sander was so excited he didn’t even want to wait for me to get my coat on.  Then he insisted on running almost the entire way there!  He was so excited to get his hair cut, which he promptly forgot when we had to wait.  He got completely sidetracked with playing with the small stock of toys.

When it was his turn he hopped up on the chair, a toy in each hand.  He sat patiently while she cut his hair.  He didn’t say a word the whole time, just sat quietly and played with the two toys in his lap.  We asked him several questions, but he wasn’t in a talking mood.  It was all business.  He was there to get his hair cut, so he was waiting patiently until the job was done.  I was so proud of him, though I did worry a little bit about what he thought of the process.  I’m starting to learn that he’s just a “down to business” kind of guy.  He was there for a purpose, not to talk.

After all was said and done he admitted quietly that he liked his new hair cut, then was ready to be out the door.  The hairdresser offered him a lollipop, and he ended up with milk duds and five lollipops, which she thought was funny.  He was so excited he hurried out the door with a “thank you” and “bye!” as he went out, not even turning around to see who he was talking to.  The whole way home he had to talk about all the things he was going to do when he got home now that he had a big-boy haircut.  He was very excited.  The way home took easily three times as long as the trip there, thanks to all the talking and the lack of running.

I know, I know, what does he look like?  Well, here’s a picture for you, probably the moment you’ve all been waiting for.  You’d think with his new hair and all the excitement he’d want to show it off, but he’s been increasingly difficult to get pictures of lately.  This was the best we were able to get.

Mr. All Grown Up

Mr. All Grown Up

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

Leave a Reply

