Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

Death of a Microwave

8 Comments

When you live with a low income you come to truly appreciate the things you’ve got, especially when it comes to the way you make your food.  We’ve had a very limited ability to cook.  It started with nothing.  Then we were gifted a hotplate, which allowed us to cook.  Next we got a microwave.  It seemed like we were being spoiled after having nothing at all.

Of course, in time you start to take these things for granted.  You kind of expect that the things you have will be there for as long as you need them.  You don’t expect to lose them until you’re ready to replace them.

We should have taken into account that the microwave was in poor condition.  It was really on it’s last legs.  When we got it the little plate that rotates didn’t rotate.  Sometimes it would heat things just fine.  Other times it would take twice as long.  It just wasn’t in good condition from the start.  We should have known it wouldn’t last long.

Today when I was done making my own lunch, the microwave died.  It just turned off unexpectedly and didn’t turn back on.  We couldn’t figure out what happened to it.  It just stopped working.  I saw it coming, but it’s depressing.

Corde is especially upset about the whole thing.  The microwave made her life so much easier.  It meant she could cook just about whenever she wanted.  She could heat up leftovers without having to get someone to help her with it.  All she had to do was stick it in the microwave and ask some help for figuring out how long it would take.  It gave her a lot of freedom that she wouldn’t otherwise have.

I guess that means we’re adding to the list of things we need to buy when Oz gets a new job.  We knew the kitchen would need some love, but we’d really hoped it would hold us over until we were able to move.  We didn’t want to get ourselves set up for a kitchen we wouldn’t be keeping for long.  It’s one of the reasons we haven’t bought a stove.  We don’t want to be paying on a stove that we’re not even going to keep because we have to provide our own stove.  With all the massive problems this trailer has proven to have, we’re not going to stay here another year.  This place just needs too much work and we’re not going to be doing it for a place we’re renting.  We’ll see where it all ends.  Our lease is up in July, so we’ll have an opportunity to figure out what we’re doing, but for the time being, we’ve got to try and figure out the cooking situation.

One way or another, we’re figuring it out.  I’m just glad we’re not completely out of options, and we’ll hopefully be having a bigger income soon.  Now we’ve just got to take a deep breath, let go of the old, bring in the new.

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

8 thoughts on “Death of a Microwave

  1. Fox, I’m sorry to hear about your microwave. I’m sure Corde isn’t happy either. Maybe instead of investing in a stove you can try shopping around for a new microwave until you move out. Hopefully, you’ll find a remedy soon. Hang in there!

    • That’s what we were thinking about doing. We’d just hoped we could hold off on the microwave until we moved, at least that was the plan. Of course, planning only goes so far! At least we’ll have a better working microwave at the end of it all!

  2. I think you truly said it best, “out with the old and in with the new”, maybe this is the first step in getting rid of all the old, and literally starting fresh with everything. I am rooting for you!

    • Thanks! I really hope so. Oz has an interview on Wednesday, so I’ve got my fingers crossed! Hopefully it won’t be long before we can start looking at a lot of new! I’ll feel so much better once we’ve got a car, a new microwave, some decent furniture, BOOK SHELVES!!! Yeah, we’re in desperate need of those. I don’t think I can bear the wait!

      • I am so happy for you guys! I am keeping my fingers crossed. I think I am kind of vicariously living through you with the thrill of redecorating! I would love to redo my room, but I am not going to ask my parents to pay for that (while paying for my schooling) when I will be out of there in 1-2 years. Seems like a waste of of time and money. I Love my room, but I also love change – and the smell of freshly painted walls. Hmmm, I may just ask for a revamp!

      • Some tips from Corde, for you:

        1) Take some fabric to your furniture. You can wrap ribbons around your bed frame, cover your dresser that kind of thing. If you decide you want to change it, it’s easier than worrying about painting. She also likes the idea of using ribbons and things to hang off of stuff. She’s addicted to ribbons.

        2) Candles are really easy to decorate with because you use them up and then can buy a different style to help change the whole look.

        3) Get some stuff that you’ll use to decorate your own place when you move out, then you’ll have some stuff for your new place so you can carry your old space over to the new.

        If she comes up with any more tips, I’ll totally have to let you know. Maybe that’s the kind of artist she’ll be, an interior designer!

      • I will definitely keep those in mind. I might due a post of my “room tour” and maybe she can see what I have to work with. Who knows, maybe my room will give her some inspiration for her own.
        I love the ideas! That girl is an enabler! I have found a love from candles.. Now I have a reason to justify my spending 😉
        Does she have a canopy? I immediately thought of that when she said ribbon. You can actually make it your self with a hoola hoop and tule. I remember you saying she wanted her room 60’s meets 90’s… Fishing line with beads for drapes, or in lieu of a door?
        I will definitely let you know if I end up doing a room tour! I would love her ideas – of course, followed by an “update”

      • No, she doesn’t have a canopy, but she totally should! We could do that! Her room is a bit small, so it might make her room look even smaller, but I don’t think she’d care. She could keep it open during the day and we could totally make it. We’ll have to talk about some beaded drapes for her window. That’s something we could totally make! I can’t believe I didn’t think about doing it ourselves! I figured for her window that would just be too much because they don’t make them that short. We could do that for her doorway too. She has to keep her door open because of the cat, but this would totally be a way to close it off, yet keep it open so Sabrina can get in. I’ll have to pitch your suggestions to Corde. As we start doing projects we’re going to have to do a post on the transformation of each room. I think that would be fun!

Leave a Reply

