Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

Election Day 2012

Leave a comment

It’s Election Day and where am I?  Not at the polling centers.  Not out speaking to the public.  I’m not watching for potential updates as they come in.  To many it may seem like I’m setting a bad example for my kids.  To me, I’ve determined this year I’m exacting my right not to vote as a result of a colossal mix-up.

I’ve been registered to vote since I was 18.  I generally vote third party or write-in because I don’t believe in voting for the lesser of two evils just because they stand the best chance at winning.  In the end each vote doesn’t really count much because of the electoral college system anyway.  It means not voting doesn’t fill me with overwhelming guilt, but it is a chance to have my voice heard in declaring I don’t like either of the two major parties.

However, this year there was a mix up.  We moved during the year and for some reason I’m still registered in my old town.  If I want to vote I have to go four hours away to do so.  Had I found this out early enough I could have gotten it sorted out, but now I’m stuck.  My voice can’t be heard, but I’m okay with that.  It really doesn’t surprise me much.

At the same time it’s brought up a new topic in our house, the Sons of Liberty.  Corde and I have done a lot of work with the American Revolution so this isn’t entirely new.  The idea of the Sons of Liberty has been kicking around here for years, and now it’s back.  We’ve come to the conclusion that we need a new Sons of Liberty.  We need a new group that is willing to take on the government to be sure every voice is heard and elections don’t come down to the lesser of two evils.  We need a new system.

Instead of taking Corde to the polls today to show Corde about the voting and election process, we’re talking about things that need to change in this country in order for everyone to have a fair say.  We’re discussing the concept of “the lesser of two evils” and what we’d like to see in the future of our country.

While teaching children about voting is important, it’s far more important to teach children to think of what they want their country to be like so they can fight for the changes they wish to see.  We need more activists in the world like the major players we saw in the American Revolution.  We need to fight for change to make our world a better place, more fair and equal for everyone.  We need people to fight for those who are lower class or living in poverty.  We need someone to fight for changes to prevent our country from becoming more and more unhealthy.  We need to fight for change and just picking this guy or that isn’t going to make a difference.

This year we’re going to start to work on acting locally as much as we can.  I may not be able to vote this year, but that doesn’t mean my voice can’t be heard.  I’ve got to show my kids that voting isn’t enough, even if it means I never end up getting anywhere with it.  Sometimes the effort is more important than the end result.

So that’s what we’re doing this Election Day.  What about you?  How is your family spending today?  Are you voting?  Are you not?  Are you just hiding in your closet, waiting for it all to be over so the campaign harassment can end?

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

Leave a Reply

