Trailer Park Unschoolers

Because you don't need to be rich to unschool!

Is Making Cupcakes an Art?

Leave a comment

We’re having a chill day.  No one really feels like doing anything mentally stimulating, at least obviously so.  The kids just want to kick back and veg, and, honestly, so do I.  We’ve had a lot of things going on the past few days.  We’ve had friends over.  We’ve done lots of crafts.  There’s just been a lot of stuff going on in general.  Sometimes a day of kicking back and watching Netflix really is the order of things.

Netflix has apparently changed it’s system.  It used to log in and send you straight to the informational section.  Now it has an option of choosing to browse “Just for Kids”.  I was hoping to find some educational entertainment on there, but most of the listings were general cartoons and stuff geared towards preschoolers.  There were a few PBS shows that my kids loved, but I didn’t see them while I was scrolling around today.  I didn’t feel like looking through everything like I did last night, so I was ready to give up and start scanning documentaries and other things I might like watching.

Of course, just as I was about to give up, Corde cried, “Cupcakes!  There’s a show about cupcakes!”

I looked at the currently highlighted movie, squinting a little because I’m a bit on the blind side without my glasses and I don’t have the money to get new ones right now.  Sure enough, she was right.  There was a show about cupcake bakers.  I selected that and off we went, watching all about these cupcake bakers.

DC Cupcakes is really a great show for anyone who wants to be a creative baker.  My daughter thought it was cool because it was about cupcake bakers, so she didn’t expect to be drawn in for more than one episode.  Instead she found it to be an incredibly entertaining show and both she and Beekee have been sucked in.

It’s not just about baking cupcakes, though that’s pretty cool.  Corde now wants to learn how to bake cupcakes.  I think I’m going to have to see about getting her a cupcake maker because it’s so much easier than setting up for baking.  I really liked the cupcake baker that her friend had.  Then we can work on cupcakes.  I just have a feeling I’m going to have to search for some really good deals on stuff for my baker with big dreams!  I have a feeling we’re going to be buried in cupcakes and fondant if I let her run with this.  I hope she makes a lot of friends so she can give them all away!  Otherwise we’ll all be getting fat!

The wonderful thing about DC Cupcakes is the way it’s inspired my kids.  She’s learning about baking.  She’s learning about the things that go into making new cupcake flavors.  Best of all she loves the crazy art pieces they create in each episode.  They’ve made a Mardi Gras mask, a glow in the dark guitar, a fire truck, all out of cupcakes.  She said they’re like crazy cupcake artists.

Not only that, Corde is getting some ideas on what they go through to run their business.  These women both quit their regular jobs to pursue their dream.  They’re living the life they want to and have taken a huge risk in the process.  It’s not a small thing to give up “success” to start a business that realistically could fail.  It’s more important to live the way you love than to do what the conventional world calls “successful”.  She thinks this is the best show ever.

I think after this I’m going to have to be prepared for Corde to take on a whole new direction in life.  I know she hasn’t really found a strong focus in her life.  She’s just interested in art in any and every form.  First it was traditional art and drawing.  After that it was painting.  She found knitting and sewing after that.  Cross stitch was her newest love until now.  She’s now stuck on cupcakes.  I have to wonder if she’s going to find some way to string it all together into some fantastic new vision.

I guess I need to start thinking ahead for Christmas already.  I wonder if I can get figure out some way to make sure she’s got a  cupcake and craft themed Christmas this year.  I’m going to have to do some price shopping.  I’d love to inspire her to try as many forms of art as my little artist can take!

Author: Fox

With four kids in the house, who has time for much? Well, we're trying to make it work, trying to get as close to our unschooling roots as we can while state restrictions and family pressures try to stand in our way. Every day is a new adventure.

Leave a Reply

